We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scarborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Scarborough Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the room to be clean and in a great location. The only thing that bothered us was the loud ac unit in our room. It was pretty loud, even on the low setting and had a mildew smell. It did have very cold air though. Everything else about the room was fine and the price was much better than other places. Wi-fi worked great and staff seemed very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlr5979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    38
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
42
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had high expectations for our stay here based on the positive reviews we read on this site, but we should have paid closer attention to the poor reviews as they are far more accurate. The room we stayed in was definitely starting to show its age especially in terms of the carpeting and the decor. The mattress was one of the worst we've ever slept in, and all the lumps and bumps left us feeling sore and tired in the morning. The bath towels are more aptly described as rags, but the real kicker though was the cockroach we saw in the bathroom. It was just one bug that quickly scurried in a crack under the toilet, and even though we didn't see it again, we were both more than a little freaked out. Be also advised that the light continental breakfast advertised on the website is a packet of muffins/danishes that's left in your room along with a coffee maker. The best thing going for this inn is its location, but when you're paying an average of $100/night the quality needs to be at a much higher standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Infinite_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timberlake
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We arrived and went to a clean room. Loved the antique furnishings and the beds were very comfortable. Loved the bath towels and bath cloths. It was nice to have a microwave and frig in the room as well The innkeeper was very nice. Will definitely stay there again and will tell friends about this place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently stayed here about a month ago, and though it's not your typical "mega hotel on the beach" it was very charming, especially if you enjoy antiques. It sort of felt like staying at Grandmas Place (in a good way). Crochet linens, furnished nicely with antiques, well worth the money (which was quite reasonable, for a last minute trip to visit the beach). Wrap around porch provides conversation with other guests, but also private enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I went to the Outer Banks for a long Memorial Day weekend. However, we had planned it about a month before leaving. I was doing research online and knew that Nags Head and the area would be pretty expensive. Then I found Scarborough Inn. It received good reviews on this website and was only $100/night, which was the best price I could find (without resorting to cheap motels). I must say that it was a very enjoyable experience. The room we stayed in (room 2, downstairs in the main building) had comfortable beds, a flat screen TV with cable, a dresser with drawers, a microwave, fridge, and bathroom. It has a very home-y feel to it. And Rebecca, the owner and sole employee of the establishment, was very nice and the room was always tided up by the time we returned in the afternoon. If you are looking for a quiet, nice place to stay in the Outer Banks that's away from the busy roads of Nags Head but only a few minutes away, then I highly suggest looking into this place! Next time I head out that way I will definitely be booking a room at Scarborough Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollins1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We LOVE staying here! Becky is very helpful and a wonderful hostess. We have stayed here numerous times during all seasons & have enjoyed the Inn every time. Comfortable beds, homey furniture & the microwave & small refrigerator a bonus! Great prices & nice place, you don't have to compromise one for the other! Love sitting on the porch in the evenings & mornings, very relaxing.

Room Tip: I don't want to give my favorite away!! But top floor has better Wi fi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melinda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My son & I stayed here on a Spring Break trip to Roanoke Island. We didn't need a pool or anything fancy. The price was right so we thought we'd give it a try. What a great decision! When reserving the room, I asked for a room with good Wi-Fi (a necessity since I was travelling with a teenager!). We were given room 4 which was located right over the office & the Wi-Fi worked very well. The room itself was large and clean & even had a little sitting room which looked out on the street. You could see the sound if you looked between buildings which was a bonus I hadn't expected. The only problem I had was with the in-room coffee maker but as soon as I told the innkeeper about it, it was replaced in about 5 minutes. The location was great as there was a convenience store next door and two restaurants across the street. With several things to do on the island and with Nags Head just over the bridge, we had no problem filling our days or nights with things to do and places to go. We are thinking of going back next year during Spring Break and if we do, we will definitely be staying at Scarborough Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
13.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.4 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
#15 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
BEST WESTERN Ocean Reef Suites
#2 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Inn

Property: Scarborough Inn
Address: 524 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-8008
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scarborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing