We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A consistent hit year after year”

Poor Richard's Sandwich Shop
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Start the Morning w Freshly Cooked Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. The Pub overlooks Main Street Manteo and the dining room and back porch overlook the sound and Marina along the boardwalk.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A consistent hit year after year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have been going to Poor Richards at least twice for each of our visits to the North Carolina Outer Banks. My first visit was back in 1992. Little has changed over the years other than expansion and updated interiors. The menu is simple, but remains fantastic. Boars Head cold cuts, well grilled sandwiches and truly crisp dill pickles are memorable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torene3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    154
    39
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
283 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Sit on the waterfront and savor your lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We returned three times so that tells it all. This is a serve yourself order at the counter kind of place with inside and outside seating. Food was affordable and delicious all three times. We came by boat from Pirates Cove and it was a nice outing with yummy food after crossing the sound in our small boat. Casual outside porch is right in the center of the historic downtown area so you can spend a few hours here easily and even tour the lighthouse while you are there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SCRAPPYJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy on the Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had a great Reuben sandwich after a week of seafood. Friends liked their crab cake sandwiches.Efficient service giving time to browse the town. Deck on water gave us much to watch while we enjoyed our lunch. I recommend Poor Richard's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very disapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was not impressed. I was surprised after reading the other reviews. The other reviewers clearly didn't have the same experience as me. I thought the sandwich was something I could get anywhere. The bread was cheap and so was the meat....i don't believe it was boars head as they claim. The pimento cheese my sister had tasted strange. I won't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuben9, Owner at Poor Richard's Sandwich Shop, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Avaberry,
I'm suprised and concerned after reading your negitive review on your visit to Poor Richard's We've been in business since 1984 and been proudly carring Boar's Head Products since the beginning. So as the owner of Poor Richard's, I would appreciate any feedback on what could have given you doubt that we were not serving Boar's Head Products. This is something that I would like to know to make sure it never happens again. I'll say that's a first, but I want to make sure it's the last.
We simply carry white, wheat, rye, subs & wraps. All our sandwich bread is delivered daily and is what we've been serving since the doors opened in 1984. I'll say it's worked pretty well over the years and locals and tourist have been more than pleased.
Youre comments on the Pimento Cheese you sister ordered is an old Manteo Island Recipe that's been handed down for generations and does not taste like store bought Pimento Cheese, so that might be why your sister thought it tasted different,,, It's homemade.
What worries me about this review is that is is very supisous and I hope it's not posted for reasons other than you unfortunately having a bad experience at my establishment. Tripadvisor is an important tool for our vistors and hopefully is not being munipulated by someone wanting to get something the easy way and someone makeing a dollar getting them there.
Sincerly,
Tod Clissold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The sandwiches were yummy and fairly priced. I prefer table service to placing your order with a cashier.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor Richard's Sandwich Shop also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Poor Richard's Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing