We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great juicy burger”

Poor Richard's Sandwich Shop
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Start the Morning w Freshly Cooked Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner. The Pub overlooks Main Street Manteo and the dining room and back porch overlook the sound and Marina along the boardwalk.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
345 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great juicy burger”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Ordered a burger sat outside on dock, great cheddar /bacon burger, potato salad was too sour...waitress food server was friendly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jank1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    158
    41
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belcamp, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Deli”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We got the Reuben and the Tuna Salad. The sandwiches were delicious! The meat was tender and was cooked just right. There was a line because of a tourist bus that had just arrived, but the food was quickly made. Great view of the harbor and the Elizabeth II.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love this sandwich shop!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We try to make it a point to eat at this sandwich shop whenever we come to Manteo. They have great deli sandwiches, BBQ, etc. and give you a crisp pickle slice and chips with your sandwich. They serve breakfast as well, but we've never made it to Manteo that early. Unfortunately, the last two times we tried to eat here we arrived too late for lunch. They close at 3pm to prepare for dinner, which ended up with us eating at Full Moon Cafe. Doesn't sound like a great business plan to me, but Full Moon Cafe must be loving it. There are only a few restaurants on Manteo. We were really disappointed to miss going to the shop this year. We had brought my in-law's with us this time too. I checked their website for their hours, which said they had new extended hours, but never actually said what the hours were (would've been helpful!!) so how were we to know it was going to be closed? They really need to work on their website. They did list a phone number, but no links to contact them via email, a place to leave comments, etc. I hope they change their hours and stay open at least during the summer. Other restaurants seem to manage making the shift from lunch to dinner. Recommend you give this restaurant a try next time you're in Manteo. Now that I know I'll be sure to get there before they close.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenCinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Average sandwich shop with a great view”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Basic and not so basic sandwiches were fine. Cooked to order. Overlooks the harbor and the Elizabeth II at the Festival Park. Family friendly with outdoor seating.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Freya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent New England clam chowder”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nice and fishy. Not all potatoes, no clams. Prices were fair, considering this is a vacation area. The service was friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LAC2713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor Richard's Sandwich Shop also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Poor Richard's Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing