We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian food in the Outer Banks, and probably a lot farther...”

La Dolce Vita Manteo
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian food in the Outer Banks, and probably a lot farther...”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

A little background for street cred. My mother was from Naples, Italy. I've been to Italy numerous times. I love Italian food, cars, motorcycles and wine. I've had Italian food everywhere, including Lydia's restaurants in NYC. I don't consider myself a foodie snob, but I do think I should know what good Italian food tastes like. The food here is excellent, and I'll just leave it at that. Jodi, Vito, and Maria also did an outstanding job serving our car club for our holiday party. Over 40 noisy Alfisti - we all had a great time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    43
    27
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good food and able to handle a large group”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Our Alfa Romeo car club had our Christmas dinner there last night. We had just over 40 people and while we are loud and boisterous group the wait staff was able to handle us well.
I had the pasta godfather which was delicious though my daughter kept stealing off my plate as she liked it more than her angel hair pasta.
Also save room for dessert the canolis are great and my wife enjoyed the cheesecake. They also had a peanut butter item that was delicious but I have no idea what it is called.
Overall a very good night.

Helpful?
Thank alfadrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This place has great food with very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Would recommend to anyone. The waitresses are very friendly and they have very fast delivery available also!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food-So So Service”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Love this place to eat. The Pizza is delicious and so is the Stromboli. Service needs a little work or I would have given this place a better review. I also have had the Lobster Ravoli as well and it's wonderful. Foods always been great!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I don't love eating inside this restaurant because the service is always terribly awkward. This one waitress runs around dramatically like the building is burning down the whole time Asking for something (God forbid) makes me feel really guilty. She's always breathing really hard and going on about how busy she is... whether they're packed or not. I just can't.

BUT the food is good! I love ordering their pizza to go. It's fantastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SMC_OBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita Manteo also viewed

 

Been to La Dolce Vita Manteo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing