We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, good prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cabana Restaurant - CLOSED

La Cabana Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New restaurant in the Outer Banks of North Carolina serving Latin Central American Mexican food and local seafood favorites. Excellent food. Locals favorite. Lunch and dinner daily. Sunday brunch. Daily specials. Family owned.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is one of the best places to eat in Manteo! Food is terrific, prices are quite reasonable. Nice to have a break from fried seafood. Yum!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    39
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“World Cup and Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

During a recent trip to the Outer Banks, we found ourselves exploring Manteo and fetched up at La Cabana on a recommendation from the staff at the Roanoke Island Inn. We met our (adult) children there for lunch, and while we waited for them, the staff brought us drinks in the bar area and we all watched Brasil playing in the World Cup. It was a the best wait for a table I have ever had! The staff was super attentive, and they seated us as soon as our crew arrived. The food was fresh, delicious, and different--this isn't typical Americanized Latin food. We have not had Guatemalan tortillas, since, well, Guatemala. We really enjoyed all our entrees; everyone's lunch was delicious. The real winner, though, was the flan we had afterward. Just perfect! Don't let the parking lot location put you off. This one's a keeper.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LionandProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, MD
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An annual favorite of ours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Don't know why I haven't reviewed this place before, it's been our favorite Mexican/South American place for the last few years. We were there during their Sunday brunch but many in the group went for the regular menu. We were a group of eight and were seated after a short wait. We had the compulsary chips and salsa, the difference being freshly made salsa. I had horchetta to drink and found it a bit too sweet, so watered it down a bit. The orders for the table included mahi mahi tacos, mahi mahi fajtas, chicken quesadilla, papusas, chicken enchilada, and Huevos Rancheros. Everyone was very happy with the food. The fish was very fresh and cooked perfectly. The chicken was tender and tasty and the Huevos Rancheros was excellent. I am noticing that the beans and rice sides are starting to be more towards the MexicanRestaurant style, (brown paste and red tasteless rice). A shame because that was one of the things that set them apart. The lost a point on that. Otherwise the food was good, the service was fine and the coast is reasonable. It will remain on our go-to list when we're at the Outer Banks

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BikeGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband was reluctant to try this place and it does look a little sketchy from the outside but I insisted we try it bases on the reviews. It was fantastic! My husband had the steak quesadillas and said they were the best he's ever had - practically perfect ! Everything we tried was great. But the clincher for them getting a 5 out of 5 was their white queso cheese sauce! It was thick, creamy and absolutely delicious! The gentleman serving us was very pleasant and courteous. It was a great dining experience!

Helpful?
1 Thank leeannh0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Belizian & American menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I love eating at this restaurant because
I am never disappointed. The local fried flounder is always very good and I love the Belizian style potato salad. Steamed shrimp and swordfish are very good as is the taco salad.

It's a must to try the Sunday brunch- Latin American/local southern American mix but expect "fry bread" instead of biscuits. It's delicious!.. a great family restaurant to try!.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank obxluvr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cabana Restaurant also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing