We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth visiting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lost Colony

The Lost Colony
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bursting with action and excitement, The Lost Colony is the epic story of America's first English colony. Over thirty years before the Pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock, a group of 117 men, women and children waded ashore on Roanoke Island in July 1587 to establish the first permanent settlement of its kind in the Americas. Recruited by Sir Walter Raleigh, among these settlers was John White, his pregnant daughter, Eleanor Dare, her husband Ananias and the Indian chief Manteo who had become an English ally during a previous visit in Britain. They unloaded their belongings and supplies and repaired on old fort previously erected on the island. On August 18, 1587 Eleanor Dare gave birth to a daughter she named Virginia, thus earning the distinction of being the first English child born on American soil. Ten days later, John White departed for England promising to return with more supplies. It was the last time he would ever see his family. Three years later, John White returned to Roanoke Island on his granddaughter's third birthday only to find the settlement deserted, plundered and surrounded by overgrown brush. On one of the palisades, he found the single word "CROATOAN" carved into the surface, and the letters "CRO" carved into a nearby tree. The 117 pioneers of Roanoke Island had vanished into the great wilderness and into folklore. Their collective fate to this day remains unknown and is considered to be America's greatest mystery. Nestled along the shores of America's most historic and mysterious island, over 100 professional actors, technicians and designers have gathered every summer since 1937 to honor the memory of the brave people who came here to build a new country. The production is as epic as their story. Written by Pulitzer Prize winning playwright Paul Green, The Lost Colony is a cultural treasure and the best family entertainment on the Outer Banks! Performances Monday through Saturday nights May 29-Aug 22, 2015 at 7:30PM.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This location with steeped in unique history was well worth visiting. The story was very interesting. The gardens well worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your experience here at The Lost Colony! We are always humbled to hear feedback, both good and critical, and it means a lot to all of us that you were impressed enough to do so. We hope that we will see you again on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    145
    60
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very interesting learned a lot .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Just exploring the area when we ran across this cute town and a bridge you walk over to where we found the museum and learned all about the lost colony. The price was reasonable, the whole museum inside to see and read all about the history of this area and the Indians and colonists was real interesting. The outdoor area was awesome, the staff dressed up as the colonists and they acted out their parts and never broke out of their character. They made it real fun. The landscape was beautiful and we saw marsh rabbits and lots of birds. We took stour of the boat the colonists came over on and learned how hard it was for them to make the trip. We visited the blacksmith shop where he made us a nail that they used to build structures with. Good time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FunfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your experience here at The Lost Colony! We are always humbled to hear feedback, both good and critical, and it means a lot to all of us that you were impressed enough to do so. We hope that we will see you again on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House Springs, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome play”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We LOVED this play. It was well done. We took the back stage tour which was totally worth the money. The entire family enjoyed this activity. We are so glad we went. Their costumes and performance was top notch. Thank you for an enjoyable evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how much you've enjoyed the show! Your mention of the backstage tour is particularly gratifying for us here in the office. We hope you can make it back on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lost Colony Theater production”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I recommend that everyone who visits the Outer Banks of North Carolina set aside an evening to view this presentation of an historical event. Stage props at this outdoor event were amazing as were costumes. The performers did an outstanding job. The three hour length of the performance was a very slight downside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank merrieb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to let us know how much you enjoyed The Lost Colony! The length of the evening is an issue that we will be working to solve next season. 50 years ago a 3 hour night out at the theatre was standard. Times have changed, and we need to change with it. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on a future trip to the Outer Banks!!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lost Colony is a must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The longest running outdoor drama is just that because it is a professional, first class production. It has it all: Drama, Comedy, Fight Scenes and Symphonic Choir. The Costumes are designed by Tony Award Winner William Ivey Long. Although the show continues the unsolved mystery of the Lost Colony, you get completely involved and leave wanting to do personal research on the plight of that poor band of colonists.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCSTOLAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to let us know how much you've enjoyed The Lost Colony! We always hope that when people leave they will be interested to learn more about the real history of the The Lost Colony and it sounds like, in your case at least, we hit the nail on the head. We look forward to seeing you on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lost Colony also viewed

 

Been to The Lost Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing