We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Interesting Portrayal Despite Continued Mystery About Disappearance”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lost Colony

The Lost Colony
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bursting with action and excitement, The Lost Colony is the epic story of America's first English colony. Over thirty years before the Pilgrims landed at Plymouth Rock, a group of 117 men, women and children waded ashore on Roanoke Island in July 1587 to establish the first permanent settlement of its kind in the Americas. Recruited by Sir Walter Raleigh, among these settlers was John White, his pregnant daughter, Eleanor Dare, her husband Ananias and the Indian chief Manteo who had become an English ally during a previous visit in Britain. They unloaded their belongings and supplies and repaired on old fort previously erected on the island. On August 18, 1587 Eleanor Dare gave birth to a daughter she named Virginia, thus earning the distinction of being the first English child born on American soil. Ten days later, John White departed for England promising to return with more supplies. It was the last time he would ever see his family. Three years later, John White returned to Roanoke Island on his granddaughter's third birthday only to find the settlement deserted, plundered and surrounded by overgrown brush. On one of the palisades, he found the single word "CROATOAN" carved into the surface, and the letters "CRO" carved into a nearby tree. The 117 pioneers of Roanoke Island had vanished into the great wilderness and into folklore. Their collective fate to this day remains unknown and is considered to be America's greatest mystery. Nestled along the shores of America's most historic and mysterious island, over 100 professional actors, technicians and designers have gathered every summer since 1937 to honor the memory of the brave people who came here to build a new country. The production is as epic as their story. Written by Pulitzer Prize winning playwright Paul Green, The Lost Colony is a cultural treasure and the best family entertainment on the Outer Banks! Performances Monday through Saturday nights May 29-Aug 22, 2015 at 7:30PM.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
453 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“An Interesting Portrayal Despite Continued Mystery About Disappearance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The play closed the day prior to our arrival, but I think we prefer the museum anyway; as why these early colonists (including Virginia Dare, The first European Child born in N. America) disappeared. Lovely gift shop with great books for the children in your lives. Museum displays well done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2Starbirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks so much for taking a moment to write about your experience in the park here. Although you didn't get to see our show, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you can make it back one summer to see what we do!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    142
    60
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We took in the play and the behind the scenes tour beforehand. (We had attended the play before -- many years ago) The tour is $25 for a family and is informative and enjoyable. Heard about the history of the play and interesting facts about the story of the lost colony. The play itself was great -- make sure you are prepared. Water bottles, bug spray, sunblock and sunglasses (for the tour - the play is later) will be useful. We skipped the gift shop -- most of the things were high priced and what you would get in any run-of-the-mill gift shop. This was one of the best things about our vacation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jilligan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Many thanks for the great review and the tips on the backstage tour. We're extremely proud of our tour program and it makes us warm and fuzzy to hear that it is resonating with our visitors! We hope to see you again on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must when it's good weather, so plan wisely!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is an outdoor production, but one that is steeped in history, no pun intended. Yes, might be too long for younger children, or those who don't know what the colony is all about since it appeals to the adult audience. But, for the value, it is a must.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to let everyone know about your experience at our theatre. Your advice for those with very young children will be very helpful for those planning their trips. And of course, as an outdoor venue, weather will always be a concern. We hope to see you on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wonderful! Beautifully done. Too long for young children. We enjoyed it very but we are history buffs, it can too boring for younger and maybe some teen children. We saw this play several years ago and we would go again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolannjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to let everyone know about your experience at our theatre. Your advice for those with very young children will be very helpful for those planning their trips. We hope to see you on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
2 reviews
“Outstanding Family Entertainment!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I loved the entertainment value of this show for the entire family! The theater is fantastic, the story is intriguing, the costumes are as fabulous as you any would see on Broadway, and the acting is outstanding! Soldiers, Indians, Royalty, Pirates and adventursome Settlers all make up a fabulous recreation of this true story of the first settlers on Roanoke Island. The sets are magnificent, I love the way the ship rolls in to deliver the settlers. Dancing, classic battles with the indians, and gunfire make this story very exciting. And all the while, the narrator ensures you know exactly what is going on and why! This story concludes with one of the region's greatest mysteries, what ever happened to those settlers? I highly recommend that if you are in the outer banks and want to be entertained, "The Lost Colony" is the place to be. For a few extra bucks, the backstage tour prior to the show is well worth it as it gives you a better understanding of the story, a close look at the costumes and props and you get to mingle with the cast in costume and make up backstage, preparing for the show. Fantastic!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlieandJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandonasny, Manager at The Lost Colony, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience and your impressions of what we do here. We're always so flattered to hear from folks like you and it's very gratifying to know that what we do is hitting the mark. We hope that you'll make it back sometime on a future trip to the Outer Banks!

Brandon Smith
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lost Colony also viewed

 

Been to The Lost Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing