We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Management”

Avenue Waterfront Grille
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Avenue Grille is a seasonal waterfront restaurant in downtown Manteo serving local seafood, all natural proteins, pizza, burgers and more! We are closed for the winter and will reopen in March 2018. Avenue Waterfront Grille is situated to handle large parties and has a kid menu, so there is something for everyone. Our menu has plenty of vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options, too. Made from scratch recipes are prepared fresh daily. The fully stocked bar is a great place to relax and view the water. Or join us on the area's largest waterfront patio with beautiful views overlooking the marina and Queen Elizabeth II. Gather with friends and family after a fun day on Roanoke Island enjoying the sights. We are located in the middle of the downtown district and are steps away from a stroll on the docks and great shops, too! We are a seasonal restaurant and will be adding more hours in starting in May. Looking forward to meeting you!
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited this restaurant as a party of 6 during the art show in August. The place was not overly busy, and we were seated within about 10 minutes. But then we waited and waited. The tables near us were commenting about how long they had been waiting for food. After about an hour, the table next to us was told by their waiter that there was only one chef on that day. One chef, on the day of an art show would be a problem. But even this one chef was unable to put out more than one table of food in a 2 hour time frame. We waited over an hour for our appetizers, and when they came, one was cold and incomplete. Another half hour or so later, our meals arrived. They were also sub par. In the meantime, several of the diners around us had abandoned their tables while waiting so long for their food. The kicker was that not one person from management showed their face during our 2 hour wait. And not one apologized to us or those who waited even longer than us. Our waiter hastily mentioned that they were busy, but less than half the tables were full. And if they were so busy, how come we were seated so quickly? Why weren't we warned that the wait could be over an hour before we see any food? Go at your own risk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mbinacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoBreeze, Owner at Avenue Waterfront Grille, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for visiting our restaurant on what happens to be one of our busiest days of the year. I am part owner and manager of this restaurant. My husband is the Chef and we are a small restaurant in the small town of Manteo that stays busy and has a few days that get EXTREMELY busy. The New World Arts Festival that was taking place outside our building that day brings thousands of additional people to Manteo for the 2 days that it is here. We are very happy to have the business it brings and we were prepared for it to happen with our entire staff, which was more than just one Chef, sorry for the misinformation. 2 cooks, a salad cook and a back up salad prep, as well as a dishwasher were on that day. That is our entire kitchen staff. And they manage fine all summer. This one day was an exception. Over 100 people came into the restaurant within 1 hour. This is more volume than normal. Our restaurant has a lot of space and that can be deceptive to the eye. We have almost 200 seats including the patio. There were open tables because I had informed the host to not seat anymore. While we weren't crowded I can assure you we were very busy. You should have been warned by your server and I would have loved to come to the table and talked with you and explained the situation if I hadn't been helping to get your food out as quickly as possible. And for that I apologize. Unfortunately, when that many people descend upon one place at one time, service time is increased. As you can tell from the overwhelming majority of our reviews we serve delicious food and give the best service in an atmosphere you can sit back and relax in. Your opinion matters and I would love the opportunity to give you a proper Avenue Grille experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 239 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were seated within 10 minutes at a table by the window but things went downhill from there. We waited over an hour for our food. The crab dip was fine, but Brie was served with no bread or crackers to eat it on. It took forever to get the Brie in the first placeso we knew it was hopeless to ask for bread. The Brie was also undercooked and was totally cold in the middle. Tables near us waited nearly 2 hours with no food yet and many gave up and abandoned their tables. The place was not crowded, and was not short on wait staff. Management was clearly the weak link. Once the meals finally came, the food was average at best. Would not return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bill and peg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoBreeze, Owner at Avenue Waterfront Grille, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for visiting our restaurant on what happens to be one of our busiest days of the year. The New World Arts Festival that was taking place outside our building that day brings thousands of additional people to Manteo for the 2 days that it is here. We are very happy to have the business it brings and we were prepared for it to happen. Unfortunately, when that many people descend upon one place at one time, service time is increased. As you can tell from the rest of our reviews, we strive to serve delicious food and to give the best service in an atmosphere you can sit back and relax in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

My family and I just ate here and loved everything we ordered. Mahi mahi fish tacos were wonderful and the fruit dessert was Fantastic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whittjre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManteoBreeze, Owner at Avenue Waterfront Grille, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and I agree, YUM! The fish tacos are my one of my favorites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As we had spent the afternoon at the park in Manteo and had a couple of hours to kill before The Lost Colony show. We hadn't booked anything and this was the nearest restaurant to where we parked after leaving the Festival Park. It didn't look very promising as units in the block it is in are empty. There was no visible menu but we went in and asked and were happily shown the menu and invited to look at the view from the restaurant. The room was pretty empty, but it was early, so there was no problem getting a table (with a view) for our party of 6 adults and one child. The waiter who served us was very efficient and pleasant when taking the orders, sorting out all the options for the burgers and fish tacos that were ordered. I went for the Pork Medallions but still had to choose between asparagus and mixed vegetables. The dish was well presented and very tasty. My constant vegetarian companion pronounced herself very happy with the portobello salad she ordered and even more happy with the brownie gelato that she had as dessert, which fortunately she needed help with. The others in the party pronounced themselves happy with their choices the crab soup starter gaining particular praise. The only downside was when the bill came it had a 20% service charge automatically added (though it is on the menu that it will be added for parties of 6 and over) and had we looked at the website before we could have got 20% off as we were going to The Lost Colony. That isn't prominently advertised in-house to the disadvantage of those who just drop in.

Thank Spwells2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were very excited to actually find a waterfront restaurant that we could make a reservation at! Called and was hostess was very helpful and friendly. We wanted a table with a view, and was told that she would hold a table both inside and out, and we could decide when we arrived whether it was too windy to eat out. We decided to sit inside because the tables outside were more or less in a courtyard inside the mall and not really on the boat dock. We were disappointed to find out that our original table (that was being held for us inside was next to a party of 20... too tight a fit for the 5 of us, so we squeezed in at a four top just so we could sit by the window.
As polite and pleasant as the wait staff was, we did wait a while for our food because of this large party. The rest of the place was pretty empty, so somewhat a disappointment.
Anyway, food was delicious. My family was pleased with their meals. I had ordered a filet mignon well done, and had to send it back as it was very pink. I don't like eating my meal when the rest of my family is all done.....
Otherwise, everything was fine. We did enjoy sitting by the window and looking at the boats. Though, I will admit the environment of the restaurant wasn't very appealing. It seemed like an event hall, not much ambience to it.
The town of Manteo is very pleasant and quaint and lots of shops to walk into.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PalaceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue Waterfront Grille also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Avenue Waterfront Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing