We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Miss it!!!!”

The Downeast Rover Sailing Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Downeast Rover is a 55-foot topsail schooner offering sailing tours of the Roanoke Sound in the Outer Banks of North Carolina several times daily including sunset. The ship showcases views including the Jockey’s Ridge sand dunes, leaping dolphins and osprey nests. The ship docks and departs from the beautiful downtown Manteo Waterfront Marina located across from Festival Park. Reasonable prices for individuals, groups, and private charters. BYOB. Come see the Outer Banks from a completely different perspective! Enjoy a beautiful sail and the quaint village of Manteo for a day of fun and sun.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't Miss it!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had such a fun time sailing with the Winslows! Kim & Kimberly are kind and welcoming, and the crew is great too! The boat is beautiful, the views spectacular, and the staff makes you feel like family. We will definitely be back!!!! -Laura & Ashland

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank laura c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    4
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an AMAZING Sunset Sailing Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have lived here on the OBX for 40 yrs and finally had the opportunity to try out some of the local entertainment. If your looking for an Amazing, Romantic, Fun Sailing Adventure then The Downeast Rover is the Ship you are looking for to add memories to your vacation. The Captain & Crew were simply wonderful! Bring your small cooler and snacks. The Sunset was breathtaking. Your family, group of friends.....or your love They will remember this one. The Crew will make it special. Loved the trip & can't wait to go again. I highly recommend this adventure for Locals & Visitors!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect Hill
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun, Informative, Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I along with our daughter and her two month old boarded the Downeast Rover and enjoyed every second on board. There were other children on board with us and the crew is fantastic with them! Bits of local lore along with breath taking views made this trip very worthwhile. We cannot wait to go back to sail the sunset cruise! It was also fun to learn about the nesting osprey's habits and lifestyles.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to watch an OBX sunset!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had a great time aboard the Downeast Rover on the Manteo Waterfront. You can bring along a cooler and some snacks and the captain and crew make you feel right at home. I would definatley recommend this excurssion to any one local or visiting.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SabrinaTomlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing Sail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 43rd anniversary by taking a two hour sailing tour on Roanoke Sound aboard the Downeast Rover out of Manteo, NC. What a wonderful trip. Captain Eric was at the helm and was knowlegeable of not only his boat but also the sound. He pointed out the many Osprey nest now populating the sound. He also pointed out a shrimper who was just dropping his nets and explained the process of netting shrimp. He answered all the questions thrown at him and even allowed a young boy to take the helm and steer the boat for a while which thrilled the young boy.
First mate Mason was very helpful in making sure everyone was comfortable and also explained the sails and rigging.
Captain Kim who owns the boat with her husband was at the dock to greet us and really made us feel like we were the most important people ever. It is a wonderful trip made even better by a very welcoming crew.
Thanks for a memorable day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Downeast Rover Sailing Cruises also viewed

 

Been to The Downeast Rover Sailing Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing