We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check the web for road conditions”

Outer Banks Visitors Bureau
Ranked #14 of 39 things to do in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your information center for sightseeing, attractions, accommodations and dining.
Carrollton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check the web for road conditions”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Coming back from a couple nights in Nags Head we found that the bridge work across the Sound that had been reduced to one lane on Thursday was still one one leaving on Saturday. It was still summer time & we couldn't believe that they would be doing this on a weekend! We went 6 miles in stop & go traffic and after one hour, decided to go the long way home through Manteo. At least the traffic was moving there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 455sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,614 reviews
1,088 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,305 helpful votes
“Better than average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

When we visit a new area we first look at Trip Advisor and determine the top attractions, restaurants, etc. Then, we visit an Information Center and match what we think we want to see with local information. This helps the folks at the center narrow the options based on our preferences. This saves a lot of time. The Outer Banks Visitor Center was very helpful given our system. They also suggested some other areas that might be of interest based on our "bucket list". A nice visit that did not require a lot of time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
182 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Normal Visitor's Bureau”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Not much to point out here- normal information availability and a bit about the history of the area- nothing especially noteworthy

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AvguyKfarSaba_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
191 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Must stop before visiting OBX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a great stop for every coupon or brochure you could ever need. Staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. They even advised us about places to ride our motorcycles! They love sharing their knowledge. great, clean bathrooms as well!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ggthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“All the information you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

They have everything you need to get an overview of the Outer Banks. Worth the stop since they have discounts and coupons booklets which are helpful at a variety of locations.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 60rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outer Banks Visitors Bureau also viewed

 

Been to Outer Banks Visitors Bureau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing