We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Informative National Military Post

This being our first time in the OBX, we wanted to get a much info on the area as possible. Also... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Cindy E
,
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
via mobile
Not much without the Show

We looked about but site was not much without the play. We toured the welcome center and digs. The... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
rogersober
,
Clermont, Florida
via mobile
Read all 417 reviews
  
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveler rating
155
170
72
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
155
170
72
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center lost colony ranger talk nature trail park ranger elizabethan gardens civil war fascinating history underground railroad short movie original site small museum early american history enjoy history worth a stop native americans welcome center
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

It's shouldn't be surprising that there isn't much left from a settlement from over 400 years ago, especially since they went missing. However, the visitor center is really quite good and modern, and the grounds enjoyable to walk with sea-side access. Come during the summer when the full-scale production of the Lost Colony can be seen in the on-site, open-air amphitheater!

Thank Divemasterking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the site of a small fort constructed by the original colonists of the first English attempt to settle North America. The actual site of the colony is unknown.

The site itself is a bit underwhelming, just a star-shaped earthworks that was about 40 feet across. The visitor center is well-done and does a great job of describing the many theories of what happened to the Lost Colony. The visitor center movie was a bit dated, but kept our young kids interested and had them asking tons of questions afterwards.

Thank barton24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This being our first time in the OBX, we wanted to get a much info on the area as possible. Also, the list colony has always been interesting to us. The visitor's center was extremely nice with an informative video and plenty of artifacts for a colony that just disappeared. There was a paved trail to the earthen fort reproduction and to the theater for the Lost Colony plays in the summer. It was also very quiet and peaceful there. You can get 2 cancelation stamps for your NPS Passport book at this location.

Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Learned all kinds of stuff that School House Rock left out. This was the first place that England tried to colonize, only a hundred years after Columbus' discovery when Queen Elizabeth I was ruling (think Shakespeare.) Friendly native Americans tried to help the newcomers, but misunderstandings and distrust developed. When the governor returned to England for supplies he was delayed by the conflict with Spain (think Defeat if the Spanish Armada) and when he returned, the colonists had all mysteriously disappeared! Great opportunity to really think.

Thank wiffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice quiet place for walking, it not a lot to see here if you are not going to the theatre

Thank Mimi5620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We looked about but site was not much without the play. We toured the welcome center and digs. The place was a bit disappointing.

Thank rogersober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not really sure what I expected to see here, but I really saw nothing. The fort is nothing more than a mound of dirt. We were too late in the year to catch the play, and there was little else there. They did however have some good walking trails. I wouldn't go back.

Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

The video presentation and displays were interesting and informative. It's nice that this site is free so everyone can see this important part of American history.

Thank Kay7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Very nice staff and helpful too. The grounds at Fort Raleigh are lush and beautiful. There are signs along the paths to explain what happened where you are standing. Take bug spray.

Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

This national park is free and should not be missed if you are interested in history. There is a very interesting museum full of artifacts and a film that explains what happened at Roanoke. You can walk to see some ruins and the stage for the outdoor play The Lost Colony if it is not showing. This stop provides an interesting look at where it all started for the British colonization of the Americas.

Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews