We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay. Air conditioned.”

Fort Raleigh National Historic Site
Ranked #3 of 38 things to do in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic museum that tells the story of the 16th-century Roanoke Island colonists.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
188 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Okay. Air conditioned.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Most of what was in here about the colony was already covered in other attractions. I learned a couple of more things, but mainly I liked the air conditioning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MisterTiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    137
    62
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Historic area”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family loves history and loves to learn, this was a must-see for us. We love museums and such. The trails were beautiful, the staff was informive. Our 5 yo loved the artifacts found and the educational videos available. They did seem alittle dated but they were interesting to view. I would recommend stopping in if not for the historic value then for they beautiful view and trails.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NcSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a great place for everyone especially for those intrigued with history. Fort Raleigh is the site of the first English colony aka "The Lost Colony" because the residents vanished. The museum tells the story of the colony and the mystery that surrounds it. You can browse through artifacts and take a tour of the grounds. HINT: TRAVEL DOWN THE PATHS. IF YOU TAKE A RIGHT AS YOU ARE GOING DOWN THE PATH, YOU WILL END UP AT THE WATER. THIS IS A FANTASTIC VIEW.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just Needs to Be On the 'Visit' List”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

At time of visit the NPS exhibits and films seem dated-- and not much on site- but one of those that again must be on the 'must visit' list. The friendliness and wealth of knowledge via the NPS ranger on duty- easily brought this to the five star recommendation - but as noted - very important historical site which importance and human story translates easily to all ages and many interests.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Listen with your mind and heart, not eyes.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

There isn't a tremendous amount to see here--but that doesn't mean it isn't worthwhile. We attended The Lost Colony play the evening before, and it helped to "feel" this site. Do some pre-research on this lost colony and then enter into the presence of those who hoped for life in the new world.
The park ranger was amazing! Definitely attend a presentation. One of my favorite historic sites!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Raleigh National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Fort Raleigh National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing