We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Average”

Big Al's Restaurant and Grill
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The past is back! Big Al's Soda Fountain & Grill serves up authentic American fare in a retro 50's fun dining atmosphere. Restaurant features soda fountain counter, juke box, dance floor, game room/arcade, one of the largest Coca-Cola memorabilia collections in the country, fresh never-frozen USDA certified Prime Angus burgers, home made desserts, 50's inspired gift-shop and blue-plate specials. New owners have recently updated the restaurant from top to bottom with a focus on a quality dining experience with all the good flavors of the era.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

While the atmosphere of the restaurant is different - the food was not much different than a normal Denney's. Kids liked looking at the decorations, and of course the gift shop. We did not have a bad experience: everything was edible, service was good, price wasn't bad. Nothing really stood out, though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    128
    81
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant came highly recommended by friends and locals as a must "go" place to eat. I understand that the mentality on the island is "island time", but this restaurant took it to a whole other meaning. We were in there for almost 2 hours after being seated immediately. We had to wait fifteen minutes before our drink orders were take. We ordered our food at the same time and it did not arrive for about 45 minutes. A group of 5 were seated about 20 minutes after us (table for 2) and received their food before us. We had chicken strips and onion rings. The chicken strips are not fresh. They tasted frozen. I am not sure what the issue was but I was not impressed with any aspect except for some of the Coke memorabilia.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank F1nsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkertown
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food in a 50's atmosphere”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place is good to go to if you are nostalgic. Coke memorabilia is everywhere. The meatloaf is great as well as the patty melt and the chocolate cookie dough pie. Other burgers are average. Sweet potato fries are good and so are the malts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjr1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“35 Milkshake flavors to choose from - that's better than Baskin Robbins”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stopped in at Big Al's three times while we were in the area (& purposely drove the 45 minutes from Avon, NC for their peanut butter-chocolate milkshake). Their bean burger was great. The chicken salad sandwich (on marbeled rye bread - yum) had chucks of chicken & was to die for. (Went back the second time just for their chicken salad. Excellent!) Burgers were great, fries, eh, we've had better. The service was good & Cheyenne (server) was very endearing & friendly. The Coca-Cola decor/memorabilia was incredible!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marty067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible experience”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a restaurant to avoid if you are looking for good food and caring service. The shrimp had not been cleaned before battering and frying - they still had their veins and swimmerettes...yuch! French fries cold and hard. Milkshake with minimal ice cream was small in size and cost almost $5. Waitress only checked back when we were done (husband refused to eat shrimp). When we complained about the lack of appropriate preparation she disappeared to get manager. Guess what? Manager could not bothered to come and find out what was wrong. Gave us 50% off shrimp meal, but would have felt they cared about their food and restaurant if they had bothered to find out why we were upset. There are lots of great places to eat in outer banks. This is the one to drive by without stopping.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IllinoiaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Big Al's Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing