We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun And A Real Blast To Visit !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Al's Restaurant and Grill

Big Al's Restaurant and Grill
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The past is back! Big Al's Soda Fountain & Grill serves up authentic American fare in a retro 50's fun dining atmosphere. Restaurant features soda fountain counter, juke box, dance floor, game room/arcade, one of the largest Coca-Cola memorabilia collections in the country, fresh never-frozen USDA certified Prime Angus burgers, home made desserts, 50's inspired gift-shop and blue-plate specials. New owners have recently updated the restaurant from top to bottom with a focus on a quality dining experience with all the good flavors of the era.
Leola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Fun And A Real Blast To Visit !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a great meal and a lot of fun here ! Thanks from all of us !

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JodysJewelry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    126
    79
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Big Al's is a big disappointment...............”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We ate here a couple of years ago and like it good enough. Went in at lunch Thursday May 24, 2012 and were very disappointed. First we had to wait over an hour for our food. It was not extremely crowded. But people seated 1/2 hour after us were delivered there food, a half-hour before us, after the waitress actually delivered their food to our table. There were 6 of us including my 2 young grandkids.

Evidently our order got lost and there was an excuse about the seafood that someone ordered taking an extremely long time. Yeah right................

I was served very lukewarm cole slaw which had been sitting too close to the hot food. So I sent it back. My son in law had ordered seafood, was delivered the wrong items but ate it anyway.

The food was very average and not worth the money. I would not go back.
The least they could have done was offer us something off of our dinner, but that was not offered at all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D36mount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We chose this restaurant after seeing its ad in one of the local coupon magazines. It was a bit of a drive for us, but it sounded like a fun place. We waited outside for about 20 minutes with no problems other than a larger party which arrived after us was seated ahead of us. The restaurant has a large array of Coke memorabilia and resembles an old diner (more like 5 diners put together in size). Once we arrived at our booth, we found the cushions to be torn. This could have been easily overlooked had things gotten better. Our Cokes and Diet Coke were inconsistent in taste from refill to refill--and we waited long enough to get several refills. Our waitress told us she probably just filled the diet with Coke Zero, but everything seemed a little off. We ordered the meat loaf sandwich (very good with their Coca-cola BBQ sauce), 2 tuna melts (bland at best), and a kid's spaghetti (served with a 1/4 cup of sauce). The waitress was unsure of the menu and told us she believed the spaghetti came with bread only to return and tell us it did not. After eating and waiting a great while longer, we decided to try the excellent looking and sounding desserts. We ordered the Toll House Pie (tiny piece for $6!!!), chocolate brownie (it was what it was), and Peanut Butter Pie. The waitress was, again, unsure of the menu and asked if the peanut butter pie was a milkshake. We waited for over 15 minutes for these desserts which we knew to be premade (you can see some of them in a case near the front door). During the wait, the waitress said they were going to another refridgerator for the peanut butter pie (at Food Lion?). In three different trips to the table, she brought the Toll House Pie, the brownie, and finally returned to say they had no peanut butter pie. After I declined to wait for another dessert, the waitress was nice enough to remove the missing dessert from the check (!). There was no offer of any comping or a visit from a manager for the inconvenience. If we hadn't spent 2 hours on this meal, I would have complained, but as it was, I simply wanted to leave Big Al behind and never return.

3 adult sandwiches, 1 kid's spaghetti, 3 sodas, 1 milk and 2 desserts: $57

Helpful?
Thank A_Roaming_Gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep Run, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great malts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

They made a double chocolate malt for us and it was the best!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donnie and Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Throw back to the 50's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Good Burger and fry joint. The shake and music are good also.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank funinthesun28721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Big Al's Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing