We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salads for Lunch”
Review of The Hungry Pelican

The Hungry Pelican
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Description: An owner operated deli in historic downtown Manteo. Great deli style sandwiches on baked to order rolls. Fresh cut salads, homemade dressings, house made side dishes and soups. Ice cream and desserts available also. Eat in or takeout. Outside seating is available, pets welcome there.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

We were walking around the town. It was lunch time and we thought we would give this place a try. Not many people when we walked in but a "rush" of people followed us in. Nothing fancy but the BLT salad and the Chef Salad were very good. The portion size was such that I took a good bit of the Chef salad home and had it with my dinner. Nice staff. Keep up the good work.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 187 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2019

We were here out of season. It was on of the few places that was open for business. We were happy with the service and the quality of the food!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VanLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2019 via mobile

Sightseeing and traveling Manteo, our family of 5 was looking for somewhere to each lunch. We ended up at The Hungry Pelican. We each got something different and everyone was very happy with their choice. Parking is a little tight but well worth the effort!!!

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank ADLayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

The bread in our sandwiches was very fresh and toasted to perfection. We had a hard time choosing from all of the menu items.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank donnajsatterlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019

The food was great and the owners where very pleasant to chat with. They were very informative about the area and answered all our questions, highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Climber195173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Pelican also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to The Hungry Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing