We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch spot”
Review of The Hungry Pelican

The Hungry Pelican
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Description: An owner operated deli in historic downtown Manteo. Great deli style sandwiches on baked to order rolls. Fresh cut salads, homemade dressings, house made side dishes and soups. Ice cream and desserts available also. Eat in or takeout. Outside seating is available, pets welcome there.
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful lunch spot”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Awesome food! Everything was so fresh. My kids loved their meal AND the ice cream afterward. I had the chef salad.....wonderful. My husband had the Reuben...best he ever had. We will go back every year. The view and service were top notch too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank avaberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    35
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches with a View”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stopped at The Hungry Pelican for lunch during our visit to Manteo. The cashier was friendly and the restaurant is cute! You can see the water and the boats from the windows. Although you have to wait for a few minutes for your food, it's because they take the time to make each order fresh! I had a turkey club and my boyfriend had the "Angry Bird" sandwich and we ate every bit. For two sandwiches and two drinks we paid $18; a good deal for a fresh, made-to-order sandwich, but a little pricey if you're looking for a cheap bite. We will go back if we are in the area again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vmhendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Will go back everytime!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Great food, even for the kids! Wonderful view of the boats and dock area. Had a the turkey club....melt in my mouth!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wattonwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for a relaxing lunch and check out the menu collection.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Good food, wonderful view of the water and super nice people. I want to give the Hungry Pelican five stars, but i can't for the following minor reasons: First, i ordered a reubin sandwich and was told they were out of kraut, so i got something else. Second I like hot sauce on my chips (i like hot sauce on almost everything) and they didn't have any of that either. In spite of that i would much rather eat here than Poor Richard's. By the way, the owner collects menus from other resturants and has them posted on the walls, i had fun checking them out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chillmonkey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delish with a view!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We ate here at the recommendation of a local and we were so glad we did! Everything we ordered was good, the Angry Bird sandwich was a favorite of ours and the ice cream was perfect! A scoop of death by chocolate plus a scoop of nutty coconut = heaven. Plus the restaurant is on the 2nd floor overlooking the docks so it was fun to watch the boats.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RenHen1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Pelican also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to The Hungry Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing