We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Relaxing Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tranquil House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquil House Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is an Inn in a small Southern Coastal town that is right on the Water. While it does show it's age of over 25 year some...the charm and location more than make up for the slight wear and tear. The staff is awesome..very kind and eager to help you in any way.
The beautiful rustic back deck is a bonus for chatting and enjoying the water view.
The restaurant 1587; serves 5star dinner only and you simply must have dinner there. You can enjoy waterside dining and the staff is most professional and the food selection is excellent.
I don't think it would be the best place for a family with kids but for couples...it is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with with a view of the Water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    56
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
82
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tranquil House and had a wonderful time. The room was very clean and the staff attentive and helpful. I have to say, that the housekeeping staff does a great job. The receptionist said that the Inn was 25 years old and while we noticed a little wear and tear, we were amazed at how well kept it was. Breakfast was good and the Wine and Cheese was a nice touch. We stayed in a second floor king and found it to be just right for us. However, we were able to see one the third floor rooms and will definitely be requesting one of those on our next trip. We would recommend the Tranquil House to anyone. Great Inn and great location.

Room Tip: Check on the third floor. We paid a standard rate, but those rooms are more spacious and worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECCS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs FL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

In my opinion, this is the benchmark for small inns. Tranquility House deserves its name as well as all 5 stars in all categories. And even though I wince at spending over $100 on any room, this is the exception. The furnishings and decor are cozy and quaint. Rooms are spacious and the amenities are subtle but capable of spoiling a person irresistibly. One feels more like a pampered house guest than one who is paying.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crabcakegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is just a grubby motel. The rooms are accessed straight off the boardwalk. The price was $179 (£119) per night. Vastly overpriced for a motel. We booked months before and asked for a quiet second floor room, but were given room 16, a first floor room between the ICE MAKER, the ROAD AND CAR PARK, which was very noisy. The carpet was so filthy that you wouldn't want to put your bare feet on it and the paint was chipped. A nasty experience. I asked to see the Manager / Owner the next morning, but was told he would not be in until 10.00a.m. The receptionist, who was very nice, recovered the situation for him, by offering us a 20% discount. $143 (£95) Still a lot of money for a motel.

Room Tip: I can't think of anything good to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigellatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Comfortable, clean and in a picturesque setting with the Shallow Bag Bay in the back - sailboats docked back there too! A boardwalk to stroll or jog on. Definently worth a stay. Cute & unique shops within walking distance. Great location with lots to do in the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and there are steps to walk up to get to the lobby and the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our two week vacation began at the Tranquil House Inn but it was anything but Tranquil! Our room was off of the 2nd floor deck with a staircase located immediately behind. The noise of people on the deck just outside the door, people coming and going up the staircase at all hours, and the noise of the people in the room above us (very squeaky boards, heavy foot steps) prevented/interrupted sleep at night or even a nap during the day to catch up from lost sleep the night before. There is apparently no noise proofing in this hotel of any kind. The free wine and cheese offered in the early evening only adds to the raucous noise; however, the red wine tasted good and cheese was OK. Breakfast is very skimpy and totally inadequate, even for a continental breakfast--only cereal (cheerios or granola) and a few lone cinnamon rolls. Morning coffee was in small styrofoam cups as they had run out of china mugs/cups even though it was only half way through the breakfast serving hours. The room was clean and confortable but the bathroom had mold on the tile (needs cleaning and/or recalking) and paint pealing above the shower. The television was old and the picture was very snowy with few channels to choose from (definitely no HD here). There is also no elevator so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs. If you eliminate the nerve racking noise (bring noise canceling earphones and earplugs if you stay here), the view from the deck is lovely and it is close to area attractions and restaurants. A three night stay was booked but we canceled the remaining stay due to the inability to sleep due to the noise. When canceling the remaining stay, the hotel did give a discount (due to the noise) and did not charge for the remaining stay we did not use. A Bluegrass festival was beginning at the end of the week (apparently an annual event in early October) so perhaps the excessive noise was due to band members and/or groupies arriving in advance of the event. Will never return to this Inn.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a room off the second floor deck as it is very noisy. If you can walk up to the 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VF0rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayden, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is an outstanding place to relax and dine in Manteo. The staff is excellent, full of smiles and very helpful. It has a very nice deck on the waterfront and the restaurant served up one of the best meals when had during our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.5 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
3.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
8.6 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cameron House Inn
Cameron House Inn
#1 of 10 in Manteo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil House Inn

Property: Tranquil House Inn
Address: 405 Queen Elizabeth Ave, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9815
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn with a view over Roanoke Sound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquil House Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing