We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Harbor View”
Review of Tranquil House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquil House Inn
Ranked #4 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful Harbor View”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We celebrated our 49th anniversary hear for the first time and it was a delightful experience.
The Inn has a small Quaint Harbor with Boat Docks at water-side, along with adjacent wooden walking bridge over the water. A Delightful view from the 2nd floor deck. The staff is attentive and very accommodating. They even gave us a complimentary bottle of tasty Champagne for our anniversary. We highly recommend this Inn to anyone who likes romance and the outter banks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    59
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
88
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Tranquil House Inn while in this part of North Carolina and found the hotel to be in a lovely setting by the waterfront. Manteo is a lovely little town with very friendly people, but we found the staff in the hotel not especially welcoming. Our room was very pretty and the beds were extremely comfortable, but there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, no fridge and no safe, which considering the price of the room seemed deficient. Breakfast was adequate but not particularly exciting, and there were no staff immediately around to show us where things were. Also, there were some roadworks outside our room, which although not the fault of the hotel, disturbed us during night as a pump was operating. It would have been nice to have received an apology or an acknowledgment of the problem at least. Overall a lovely place and setting, but the hotel needs to make a few improvements to bring it up to the appropriate standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redkiwi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Traveling with friends, and wanted a good central point for exploring the Outer Banks without getting into the gaudy tourist areas. We found Manteo to be a great location, a delightful village with easy access to other points we wanted to visit on the Outer Banks, both north and south. Our rooms were spacious and well-furnished, no faux Victorian or red velvet that I've seen in other inns. Plenty of light, plenty of storage, good mattress, quiet, nice bathroom, no vent fan but one of those vent/heater controls on the wall that handles the condensate. Everything was clean. Breakfast was coffee, tea, juice and milk, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries- basic, but plenty. No elevator, so ask for a ground floor room if that's a problem. Helpful staff, good recommendations for local restaurants and companies. We will definitely make this our base when we return.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great, it doesn't matter whether you face the village or the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFudie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We found the Tranquil House Inn to be a comfortable base for an Outer Banks stay. Its rooms are attractive and its location is ideal, being in the midst of a quiet, historic town yet close to the bustle of the beach communities. As noted, there are stairs to navigate and the breakfast bar is pretty basic, but neither diminished our experience. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Second floor deckside rooms have a privacy issue since they open to the deck used by all guests. Sim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 94OmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This Inn has so much potential to be a really spectacular place! However, when the wall paper in the bathroom has to be stapled back into place and there is a huge, black plunger by the toilet, it is obvious that some upgrades need to be done. First, on the positive side: The location is extremely good. The Inn is located in the historic section of Roanoke Island, so there are a few shops and galleries to browse, as well as the marina. The Elizabethan Gardens and the Lost Colony play site are a short drive away on the island. (We did discover that many establishments are closed during the "off season," which locals say runs from Dec. 1st - Feb. 28th, excluding Christmas week.) Also, the Inn offers a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the early evening, which is a nice touch. On the negative side, we would have to say that the room we had was extremely small. The bathroom was in desperate need of a remodel, and the pedestal sink, while quite neat, takes up the entire space leaving zero counter space. There was no fan in the bathroom, requiring us to open the window to let out the steam, which was interesting privacy wise. The space between our two queen beds could not have been more than about two feet and there was only one, small chair in the room. No coffee maker, no fridge and the TV was an old, tube style set that was maybe 30 inches. We would not advise families with children to select this Inn as a result of the very small room size. And finally, the breakfast was horrendously disappointing. The pastries were dry, the protein was a defrosted biscuit-sausage item and the coffee was horrible. Parking is an issue as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina side room in the center of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank truconosur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stay there usually twice a year for a couple of days. Usually a very good experience - close to local shops and attractions within walking distance. Just a little on the pricey side but we are worth it. Did have one trip where a conference was booked there also and what a nightmare that was It was anything but tranquil. Finally, around 10:30 that night I went down to the desk and informed the lady that after 11 pm - I either intended to receive a full refund or call the police. The TV on the very loudest volume setting could not overpower the noise adjacent to our room. They did calm down at 11pm but that particular stay was not enjoyable. Understandable but still was an issue. That was once out of probably 6 different stays and they did subtract 10 or 15 % from our bill for the inconvenience but it was a bad night. Shall stay there again - truly does have a nice ambience but I will definitely ask if any conferences or mass bookings engaged for that time period! If so, I'll pass.
Beds a little soft for my liking but the wife loved it. Serving a decent breakfast so that's a plus. Wine and cheese with a few snacks served in the afternoon - also a plus. You can go cheaper but this is worth the extra provided it remains "tranquil."

Room Tip: Second floor is best - easy access to veranda overlooking the water. Only 4 rooms facing the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Tranquil House Inn is one of those places you will never forget. It's location is near perfect overlooking a marina filled with sailboats and yachts. There is a boardwalk that wraps around the shore line which make walking a real pleasure. There is an in-house restaurant that serves cuisine quality food. This was our second visit as most guests are return customers. The rooms are very nice but are ready for an upgrade regarding the bathroom, carpet etc. Seniors should book on the first floor because there is no elevator and long staircases. You carry your own bags and park your own car. The parking lot is adequate but a little tight for big cars.
There was a blackout during our stay involving 3 counties. The hotel wasn't really prepared for it. Bring a flash light. Lastly there is a large deck on the back of the inn for all guests which offers great views and picture taking opportunities. Weather permitting, I think the Tranquil House will give you a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Seniors with issues should stay on first floor, rooms with water view are preferred, rooms adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codebluev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.5 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
226 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,514 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.2 mi away
Cameron House Inn
Cameron House Inn
#1 of 9 in Manteo
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil House Inn

Property: Tranquil House Inn
Address: 405 Queen Elizabeth Ave, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9815
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn with a view over Roanoke Sound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquil House Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing