We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
335
33
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
335
33
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koi pond rocking chairs snacks and drinks continental breakfast the outer banks beautiful grounds upstairs porch second floor happy place light house reception area andy griffith roanoke island fresh fruit my husband and i short walk pretzels
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 379 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2019

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful Inn whilst visiting the Outer Banks. The rooms are gorgeous and very spacious with extremely comfortable beds and good quality linen. We were on the second floor and had a great view over the bay for the first night and then a view of the garden for the second night. There is a balcony on this level with rocking chairs where you can sit and just take in the beautiful scenery and enjoy the lovely warm weather. We were there in August so it was hot. The rooms all have air conditioning. The owners of this Inn are very hospitable and there is a wonderful lounge and kitchen area with excellent choices for breakfast and snacks and drinks available all day. The town of Manteo is quite historical and worth a look around. We also visited Kitty Hawk, Nags Head and saw the show The Lost Colony which has been playing for about 80 years. We loved this Hotel and have no trouble recommending it as a wonderful place to stay whilst in the Outer Banks.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank klp3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019 via mobile

This was our second trip to the Roanoke Island Inn. We were not disappointed. We used this time as a stopover before we rented a beach house with our large extended family in nearby Nags Head. We took a day trip to Cape Hatteras National Seashore. Delightful. We met such interesting guests as usual. Took several strolls to quaint downtown Manteo. The room was spotless. We had a great continental breakfast. The Innkeepers were charming. We stayed again for two nights in Room 1 — Excellent view of the water and lighthouse.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank zellersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

This cottage was perfect for our family. Had everything you need to enjoy your Manteo vacation.Loved the feel of stepping back in history. Furnished to the period, but still comfortable. Very clean and welcoming. Dee took a special interest in telling us about points of interest.Thanks so much!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2019

This is a beautifully restored cottage, furnished with comfortable craftsman furniture. Right on the Manteo waterfront- walking distance to everything. Lovely sunrise view by the water. Very comfortable, everything we needed was provided - including a keurig and lots of coffee! Dee was a great host. Very considerate. We were visiting family and it was so nice to have the extra room for us and our dog.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tarheel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

We stayed upstairs in room 6. Would definitely stay here again. Inn was meticulously clean and bed was comfortable. The upstairs porch has comfortable rocking chairs and there is always a breeze. This area was very comfortable even on extremely hot afternoons. The view is of the Manteo waterfront and of the inn's garden area. Breakfast was a continental breakfast, but had plenty of choices. Cereal, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, etc. A great plus for days spent sightseeing was an open pantry. It provided soda, juice and refreshing juice mixes, crackers, cookies, fruit...all the great pick me ups. The common area has a great variety of books and games.

Room tip: Upstairs rooms share the great porch area. Front rooms, not 6, have view of waterfront.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bolild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theRoanoke, Owner at Roanoke Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of the breezeway! Certainly one of the things that makes the inn so special. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Roanoke soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews