We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to experience best of Manteo in one night”
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Old Manteo charm and terrific location. Sit on rocking chairs outside your room and gaze at the sound and lighthouse. Free bikes to roam around. Terrific location - walk across main entrance to boardwalk and downtown. Priced a little high for out of season. Worked out well for us.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigworm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 314 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

George and I had such a peaceful stay at the Roanoke. We were in dire need of some rest from our hectic pace and the Roanoke was just the ticket. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. The private entrance and scenic view was an added pleasure, beautiful view of the sound at sunrise.
While at the Cutterick Lighthouse shop I found a Roanoke Island Inn "Cat's Meow". It is a two-dimensional wooden building that sets above the doorframe (the Roanoke has many in their lobby). Of course I had to have it and it now is in my kitchen. I am a collector of Cat's Meow and this addition is perfect.

We hope our travels bring us this way again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We love Roanoke Island Inn. We've been guests there on several occasions and have come to think of it as our "home away from home." The house and grounds are lovely and the innkeeper is friendly and helpful, without invading our privacy. The location is perfect - right across the street from the waterfront boardwalk, but still in a quiet, peaceful neighborhood. Rooms are clean and tastefully decorated, but not lavish. Bathrooms are basic. If you are looking for a huge whirlpool tub, or a swimming pool outside, this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for relaxing retreat in a historic home, you will love it here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiteponyfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I spend most of my summers traveling to various areas for triathlon racing. This is by far the most memorable place I have stayed. The room was neat and I felt very much at home. The staff is polite and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triandrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a perfect place to go for those of us who live hectic lives. The Roanok Inn is set in the picturesque, charming town of Manteo NC. This is the place to relax and enjoy a view of the sound, or grounds beautifully groomed and offer a perfect spot for those who love nature and or sitting and reading. We loved the rooms they are charming in every way. We loved how they are decorated. We especially appreciated the quiet ! We felt like we were the only ones there. The room was spacious and provided a comfortable bed and bath. The lobbey and pantry were equally inviting. There was a nice library complete with books for any interest. The pantry open 24-7 was complete with snacks, ice, juice, coffee and tea. A refridgerator for cold stoage and a microwave for cooking. All of the rooms and grounds were impecable in care and cleanliness. We were greeted with warm hospitality from all of the staff. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inn_Traveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We had a very pleasant stay at the Roanoke Inn! Loved being in walking distance to most all of the amenites around town. The boardwalk is an added plus! My best moment is when we made friends with Angus, the Cat! He was so adorable and friendly, I wanted to take him home with me.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Great place to be, silent and with a wonderful view on the little harbour. Great funrintured rooms and even Angus, the cat, became a friend.
A great place to stay if you don't look for the surfing waterfront but for a calm and relaxing "Southern" comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berlinerin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
3.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,595 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
233 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Address: 305 Fernando Street, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: $75 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing