We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An in with great potential but many flaws”
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2009

The Roanoke Island Inn is a charming old inn in a great location near and with a view of the waterfront. We could walk out the front to the Manteo waterfront and out the back to beautiful gardens. Our room was spacious and casually comfortable. There is so much potential here, but the details that we expect to find in a $200 per night inn were just not there. For example, we expect real glasses, not styrofoam; thermostat-controlled air conditioning rather than a wall unit with cold air blowing on us all night; some attempt at a quality breakfast rather than packaged danish and cold cereal. The breakfast room did have packaged snacks available all of the time (e.g. oreos, candy, pretzels), but even these (the pretzels) had year-old sell-by dates and were very stale. The biggest turnoff was returning to our room on the second night of our 2-night stay and finding two very large palmetto bugs (roaches?) in the bathroom. I know these are common in the summer south, but we did not experience anything like this in the 3 other inns we stayed in on our trip. As far as service goes, again I have to compare it to our many other experiences with inns and B&B's. The word that comes to mind is unprofessional. The innkeeper was available and obviously had been in the area for some time, but she did not seem to know about restaurants and the Outer Banks area in general. In the end, we felt that the management of this Inn is taking advantage by collecting "high season" rates but cutting many corners.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Roanoke Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 312 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2009

Room was very comfortable, though a little outdated. Floor could have been cleaner. Mimimalist room amenities.

Snack pantry nice idea, but when we went into it at night, we encountered roaches.

Setting is just beautiful. Would recommend, but only if you can get a much better deal than rack rate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccandsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

This is more of an inn than a B & B. Our room was in a section built about 25 years ago. The decor and furnishings were tired and dated. The continental breakfast had no personality and was less than what you expect at a budget limited service hotel. The room and service do not justify the rate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaggertRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Very quaint, relaxed, atmosphere. Convenient to everything for walking. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nspicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

The Inn does a spectacular job in combining a historic feel to quality furnishings we've come to expect today. The staff was incredibly attentive and helpful during our visit and the common room had a nice amount of snacks and other things to enjoy. Our largest complaint is that for the price, which is pretty high, the breakfast should be more than cold cereal and the rooms need more amenities. Tossing a TV from the 80s and a cheap radio from a drugstore doesn't count for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

My husband and I only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed a second. Our weekend trip to Manteo was spur of the moment so we arrived in town with no reservations. We picked the Roanoke Island Inn based on previous online reviews. The owner gave us a great rate and the room was fantastic. It was on the second floor and had a large porch with rocking chairs where we could sit and look out over the water. A perfect location for sharing some wine and quiet time together. The room was decorated with antiques and was very comfortable. The lobby of the Inn consists of a library, sitting area with comfy couches and a small kitchen area where there was 24 hour soda, juice, coffee, tea, and snacks. Bicycles were available free of charge. The downtown area was literally a 3-5 minute walk so very convenient for dining. Our only regret is we were unable to stay a second night. I highly recommend this Inn for a romantic getaway ad hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

The location and charm of this seaside inn are perfect. I stayed only one night, and wish I could have stayed longer. The staff was friendly and helpful. I had a beautiful room facing the water, and it felt so cozy and comfortable during the night when a storm blew in. Snacks always seemed to be available in the kitchen; I do prefer a hot breakfast to a Continental one, so the next morning I ate in town, which is only a short walk away. Take time to visit the lovely little garden area behind the inn; it's shady and restful.

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank emmi331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Address: 305 Fernando Street, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: $75 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing