We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We second the excellent ratings”
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hard to add much to the other reviews. The place is great. Dee is very welcoming and attentive. The downstairs rooms don't have a great view of the water as the windows are small but the upstairs porch, which all may use, is incredible. The common area is very well stocked, including a drawer of things just in case you forgot. The location is great, right across from the water and a short walk into town. About the only thing that could be improved is if they provided bath robes for walking to the main house for coffee in the morning. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 316 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

How delighted we were when we pulled up in front of the Roanoke Island Inn. The inn is well maintained and the grounds are quite lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed the koi pond and Adirondack chairs in the back and found ourselves enjoying a glass of wine there two of the three nights we visited. The upstairs porch is set up with rocking chairs and tables and offers nice views of the bay. In the main house you will find the pantry stocked with snacks and drinks. There is a fridge to store any goodies you might have and glassware if you need it. Dee is an amazing host and made us feel perfectly at home. She gave great suggestions for dining/late night entertainment, put in the extra effort to accommodate our needs, and always had a smile on her face!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Great place... clean, charming, and relaxing. Great location...central to everything on the Outer Banks. Friendly inkeeper...helpful and welcoming. When we go back to the Outer Banks, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crlmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is an absolutely nice B+B in a beautiful surrounding and very friendly and helpful landlady. The garden is lovely and the porch invites for long stay in the evening and watch the sea. We stayed for 2 nights and can absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoBa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in #5 and had wonderful views of the lighthouse and water, and access to the upper porch. The only reason I gave the Inn a "very good" rather than an "excellent" rating is the stairs up to the second floor are a little difficult to maneuver with luggage being the narrow spiral style of staircase. Dee and Sarah were super helpful with suggestions of what to do in the area and where to eat. Location was perfect...only about a 5 minute walk into downtown which I loved when my husband had to take the car for a business meeting one day. A word to the wise: it was very humid when we were there the last week of May...it IS right on the water after all...so the humidity made it feel cooler at night than actual temps. Was glad I took a few warmer items to wear to bed!

Room Tip: Number 5 has a nice king sized bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhondaKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This B&B is absolutely wonderful! We stayed a week with 2 kids (5/2013). Ms Dee is so hospitable and the innkeeper's pantry is a huge benefit. Any time day or night you can snack! Great with kids! The yard and pond are so pretty and the kids enjoyed the koi fish. Walking distance to several restaurants and the Roanoke Island Festival Park. Simply wonderful! Ms Dee goes out of her way to greet you and make sure you have a wonderful stay. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragn6781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Beautiful location, beautiful place. Within walking distance of Manteo's treasures, including the Roanoke Sound boardwalk. Generous 24/7 pantry makes breakfasts and snacks a convenient pleasure. Several very good restaurants also just a stone's throw.

Room Tip: Facing the water is great, but so is facing the back garden. Either way, you won't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
3.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,646 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cameron House Inn
Cameron House Inn
#1 of 9 in Manteo
184 reviews
3.8 mi away
First Colony Inn
First Colony Inn
#1 of 5 in Nags Head
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: $75 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing