We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, great service”
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Two nights at the Roanoke Island Inn was a terrific start to a short vacation on the Outer Banks. Situated with a lovely view over the marsh and the sound, It was very convenient for everything we wanted to do. We were warmly greeted on our arrival by Dee who seemed to be on duty 24/7 and who couldn't have been more helpful. We enjoyed free access to the kitchen which included hot and cold drinks, snacks, fruit and more. The bedroom was comfortable and they had made the most of the space available. The bathroom only had a shower (no tub) which would have been improved with a new shower-head to allow better water flow. The bed was firmer than we were used to, but the bed linens which included beautiful quilts were most attractive. The Continental breakfast each morning was more than adequate and got us off to a great start.

This is definitely a place we would return to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cqsj1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 316 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have driven and walked past this B&B many times over the years. For our anniversary, we decided to stay at the Inn and not on the main island. We had a relaxing and wonderful time. We started our mornings with coffee and muffins from the butler's pantry and a walk on the sound. The nighttime view of the lighthouse was beautiful!

Room Tip: We loved room #4... We had access to the wonderful porch with sound and garden views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at the Roanoke Island Inn. It was delightful. Everything you hear about Dee, the Inn Manager is true. She is very sweet and goes above and beyond to insure you have a wonderful stay. I took the advice of others and booked room #4. It was beautiful. Woke up every morning to views of the water and light house & dock. Bed was VERY comfortable.

I really liked the fact that we did not have someone hovering around us, as with some bed and breakfasts - the owner/manager is always there in your space, talking while you're trying to eat breakfast, etc... (I hate that!) We were given a key to the snack area/breakfast area and unless we needed something we were left alone to enjoy our vacation! I really appreciated the privacy!

The Inn grounds are beautiful and the town is charming. If you are looking to get away from it all, just relax and recharge your batteries, then this is the place for you! Even the locals from town are great - fun to talk with! They do an excellent job here! Thank you Dee for a great get away! :-)

Room Tip: I did not get to see any other rooms - but room #4 is where we stayed - and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vacationgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The inn looks like an old southern home, even though much of it was added in the last century. The shutters rattle in the wind just as if they were on there for hundreds of years. The view from the front of the house looks over Shallowbag Bay and is very pleasant. Our room had well kept and thought out period furniture with a big bathroom and a comfortable bed. We needed the heat for a little while and it did make a racket. The inn keeper is very nice. There is a continental breakfast. The kitchen is available at all times. You can go in and make a pot of coffee if you like. There is also a soda fountain and other snacks. The location is good, an easy walk to the waterfront stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJgirlonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I just stayed in the Roanoke Island Inn. We loved it and will definitely go back. We loved the privacy of the rooms. We chose to stay in an upper room overlooking the gardens, VS looking out to the bay. We still had access right out of our door to a huge porch filled with rocking chairs overlooking the bay and Marsh's Light.
Rooms were spotless, the innkeeper was superb and the kitchen was equipped with lots of goodies all day long.
A great value!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've stayed in Manteo many times, but this was the first time at the Roanoke Island Inn. Location on the boardwalk was great. Peaceful views of the Sound and Lighthouse. Innkeeper was very pleasant and helpful. Amenties were better than most B&Bs. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: get a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I took a chance on the Roanoke Island Inn, not having heard any first-hand recommendations, but the whole experience, except for being too brief, was excellent. The room suited my 14-year-old perfectly, since she had her own room with a door on the other side of the bathroom from Mom and Dad--not an easily impressed segment of the population! We loved the breezeway with rockers connecting our side of the Inn to the entrance area, allowing views of the water or the garden. The reception area is a fantasy of innkeeping fulfilled: Spectacular tromp-l'oeil ceiling mural, shelves full of tempting books, pantry with fun snacks and drinks available at any time, but continental breakfast consisted of nice fruit and pastries, and good, stiff coffee. The bed was completely comfortable with a very firm mattress. My only shadow of a complaint was that I could have used a couple more hooks to hang toiletry bags or towels on in the bathroom. Not so serious. Manager Dee was always ready with recommendations on what to do, and seemed genuinely interested in her guests.

Room Tip: #7 was perfect for parents and one teenager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
236 reviews
3.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,617 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.7 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range: $75 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing