We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Labor Day Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Save
You added Roanoke Island Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Labor Day Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the weekend and very much enjoyed the charm of the R.I. We were in one of the upstairs rooms with the sound view and enjoyed the rocking chairs located just outside the room complete with great views of the sound and a nice breeze. The location of the Inn is about a block from downtown Manteo so it is very convenient to walk to shops and restaurants. Dee was a most gracious host and we found the rooms well appointed and the pantry always stocked with great breakfast and snack foods and drinks. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking to get away to the Outer Banks and the crowds found in a typical motel/hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with the view of the sound are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
171
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We are just completing a honeymoon road trip along the eastern shores of North Carolina, and were lucky enough to stumble upon the Roanoke Island Inn late in the evening. The innkeeper D was so gracious and welcoming, we wish we had arrived to Manteo earlier during our trip! The views are beautiful and serene, and the inn is immaculate and wonderfully maintained. We will certainly be returning to Manteo, and to the Roanoke Island Inn.

Room Tip: Room 4 was great, and hanging out in the rocking chairs along the breezy porch with some wine is a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jibs F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in the bungalow. Very clean and well maintained.The inn is very user friendly. Dee and her staff do a wonderful job. Can't help but wonder if it could be any better and I really don't think so. Great job Dee!
Highly recommend the Inn for anyone who wishes to see true southern hospitality.Thanks again Dee for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vern F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband an I recently stayed at inn in rm 5.It was very clean and well decorated .We would like to thank Dee the inn keeper, she was so helpful in recommending good restaurants,and places to go .The location was great we could walk most every where or you could ride the bikes .The continental breakfast was good , fresh fruit cut every day, just like home .Access to snacks anytime.Grounds were well maintained. Can't say enough. We would stay there again and probably will next year .Thanx again Dee for your southern hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

It was perfectly located in Manteo. Made it very easy to explore downtown Mateo. We stayed in Room 4, which had a very nice view of the sound.

The only down side I would have to say was that our shower made some really loud squeals when turning on. Not a huge problem but I would advise not taking a shower late at night. Might wake up the other rooms.

Room Tip: Room 4 had a beautiful view of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matau013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very well located in Manteo for relatives attending a wedding. Rooms were very clean and well decorated. Large living room with kitchen area where we could eat continental breakfast and visit. A variety of books and magazines were available for guests. There were snacks and cold drinks in the kitchen area for our enjoyment throughout our stay. The hospitality and friendliness of the staff were excellent. They were very accommodating to our needs. Large porch with rocking chairs was wonderful to catch the breeze and gather to visit. Great location close to restaurants, shopping and walking and biking trails. We would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Manteo.

Room Tip: I didn't hear complaints from anyone about the rooms as I believe everyone was satisfied with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wvcutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Va
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

A big thanks to the staff at the Roanoke Island Inn. Dee was so great in helping to arrange this special trip.
They were fabulous hosts and helped to make our family trip very special, including a special treat for my mother. They helped to plan our family's surprise my mother who was already staying at the Inn with a new car!
The location of the Inn is great, right on the water in the heart of downtown Manteo. Great walking town and very easy to take a car ride over the bridge to the beaches and restaurants in Nags Head. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Some with water views, some with garden views. The Bungalow makes a great stay for a small family. Breakfasts foods available in the kitchen each morning. Great to make plates and take back to your room/Bungalow, or eat in the common areas of the Inn.
Our family took a dolphin tour with Capt Johnny's which was great fun. After coming to the Outer Banks every year for the past 14 years, we had never done that. We took some great pictures.
Lunch at Poor Richards (pulled pork sandwich is terrific) and Big Al's was great. Our usuals for dinner: Kelly's (must try the Filet Oscar and the sweet potato biscuits), Port O'Call, Owen's, Pamlico Jack's. All with great seafood options as well as typical American fare.
Our family is looking forward to another trip to the OBX in September, staying oceanfront in Avon on Hatteras Island and possibly making a Fall trip to the Roanoke!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danimarie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
3.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
4.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Property: Roanoke Island Inn
Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing