We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn and innkeepers!”
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming inn and innkeepers!”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

In Manteo for a wedding and decided to pick this inn as it was one of the bride and groom's recommended places. So happy that we did because it was absolutely charming and incredibly convenient as all of the wedding events were in the downtown area of Manteo! The best part were the great people that take care of the inn and its guests. I was a huge fan of the butler's pantry as it came in quite handy late at night for snacks!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 00nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    33
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
183
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had a wonderful time during our stay. The rooms were spacious and beautifully kept. Dee the innkeeper was ridiculously pleasant and helpful. She was able to track down whatever we needed from firmer pillows to beach chairs. Roanoke Island Inn was walking distance to downtown Manteo. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaseu26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The whole Island is magical, but this Inn takes it a step further. The accomodations are fantastic! Innkeeper D' was the best. We stayed in the cottage and it was so quaint and private. We had our 13 year old son with us so he had a bedroom all to himself. He made himself at home with pantry items, visiting with ladies on the wonderful alcove overlooking the water. We absolutely recommend this wonderful Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had such an amazing time I am sad to be home. Dee and Sarah were so helpful both in the planning stages and during our weekend stay. We stayed three nights and were a large family party for my parents' 50th anniversary. We had guests from 1 year old to 76; and all were accommodated with such grace. The bungalow was perfect for my brother's family; it looked like home! and there are child-sized rockers on the porch and the main lobby is beautifully stocked with games; it was clear that the kids were as welcome as the adults. My dad really enjoyed relaxing in his room and on the peaceful porch overlooking the sound with some of the fascinating books in the lobby (really a mini-library). The pantry with fruit and yogurt and snacks, sodas, coffee, tea, and popcorn was made great use of including for midnight movies and pokemon games. I had a lovely nap in the folly and fun riding the bikes around, and my sister played banjo on the boardwalk across the street from the inn looking out on the water. The farmer's market a block away Saturday morning made me feel like I lived there and I picked up some delicious bread. We also really enjoyed the bookstore (Manteo Booksellers) and the Full Moon Cafe. And Dee's reccommendation of the Lone Cedar Cafe for the anniversary dinner was perfect; such a beautiful setting, delicious food, we were all 22 of us seated together, and overlooking the water with ospreys right there outside the window! Lovely, lovely time, and I'm sure we will all be back. One thing to note: the inn is historic and not handicap accessible.

Room Tip: I got to see most all of the rooms, and they are all lovely; for a family, the bungalow is perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsempl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at the Roanoke and enjoyed the stay. We aren't big breakfast eaters, so the continental breakfast option wasn't a problem for us. We liked the location very much and appreciated being able to walk into Manteo via the boardwalk.

The innkeeper was very helpful and worked with us to find a room available for the length of stay we wanted.

Hope to return on another trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnbxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Charming Inn, beautiful grounds and views of water. Innkeeper is attentive and makes you feel very welcome. Guests feel a great sense of hospitaity without feeling a lack of privacy (which can be a rare combination at a B&B or small Inn). Complimentary use of cruiser bikes was a great way to cycle around the little town of Manteo. Casual but upscale feeling place. Will look to book here first on future visits to Manteo or Outer Banks.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs facing water are great if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opinionator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The overall experience at the Roanoke Island Inn was perfect. The innkeeper was pleasant and accommodating. Our room was beautiful and incredibly comfortable. The area is a perfect location to get away and relax. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elyssarene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.6 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#2 of 2 in Manteo
226 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,513 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
853 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Property: Roanoke Island Inn
Address: 305 Fernando Street, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic Bed and Breakfast offers 8 rooms , a private Bungalow- and a fully furnished historic home called the "Croatan Cottage". All of our Inn rooms offer private entrances, private baths, tv, ac,wifi.charging stations, beautifully appointed. 5 of our rooms will sleep 2 with King beds. 3 rooms will sleep 3-4 guests. Bungalow sleeps 2-4 and is also dog friendly. The fully furnished and loaded 1920's "Croatan House " sleeps max 6 and is also dog friendly. The Inn rooms offer a beautiful common pantry area which all guests enjoy the use of our microwave, toaster oven, mini fridge, ice machine, soda machine, sink, dishwasher and this common area is where our "self-serve continental" breakfast is available daily from 8-11 am. All guests have access to our 10 rocking chair breezeway upstairs on the second level offering breathtaking views of the Manteo waterfront and iconic Marshes Lighthouse building, our fabulous common lobby area with a library of books and comfy chairs, plus all guests have use of our complimentary bikes, gorgeous back yard garden and koi pond area equipped with multiple chairs and gazebo to just relax with a good book or day dream. Daily housekeeping available and attentive staff keep this gem a must stay when visiting Roanoke Island and the Outerbanks area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing