We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Sit on the front porch and while the time away with a glass of wine with friends. Or if your 2d floor room has access to the large 2d floor porch, sit there and watch the children in the grass covered lot across the street play baseball. The breakfasts were absolutely scrumptious. The pancakes were so lush that no syrup was served or needed! Our room upstairs was my wife's favorite of all our B&B stops. Sit in the wonderfully decorated parlor and have wine with friends. Walk to dinner at one of the nearby restaurants or hit the small shops. My wife and I would stay at the White Doe Inn anytime!

Room Tip: Take any one. While the stairs to the third floor rooms are fairly narrow, once the bags are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler333999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    21
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
193
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a wonderful time. Thank you very much. The Food was great: the breakfasts in the morning were delicious and the snacks and cakes set out a night were just right. The staff was great: every single person we met was helpful and a delight to be around. And the atmosphere was great: like staying at your grandmother's house - always well kept, and full of wonderful antiques to look at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great room. Delicious breakfast. Cool area to explore. Wish I had more time to spend. Hope to get back there. I was blown away by the breakfast. That alone was worth the trip. Very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We went early July. The Inn was great and the front desk and Inn keeper was very helpful. Breakfast was like a 5 star restaurant with different courses served. Had snacks and drinks provided through out our stay. The grounds keeper even offered to help with luggage, great hospitality! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The White Doe Inn is a jewel of a bed and breakfast set in a wonderful location, the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Reception and service are exemplary. Accommodations are beautifully appointed, private, and luxurious. The breakfasts are indescribably delicious and works of edible art. Bob and Bebe, the innkeepers, are gracious with invaluable knowledge of the area that enhances your stay. We are repeat guests over ten years or more and have enjoyed several different bed chambers. None will disappoint.

Room Tip: The Garden Room has the luxury of a ground floor entrance. The Virginia Dare Room is so bright and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful breakfast, friendly hosts, comfortable bed with luxury linens. This is just wonderful. Try the Garrett room for a fireplace in the bedroom and also opposite the whirlpool bath. Beaches of Outer Banks a very short drive.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mysons27705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for our 1 year anniversary. We loved the owners and staff. It is in a great location which allows you to walk to dining and some local shops! The breakfast was great and they offered snacks throughout the day!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
8.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
7.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 319 Sir Walter Raleigh St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodging, quality service, and island life await you at the White Doe Inn; located in the quaint, coastal village of Manteo on Roanoke Island, NC. All bedchambers are decorated with family heirlooms, turn-of-the-century antiques & reproductions with comfortable sitting areas and fireplaces. Several rooms offer spa tubs for two and balconies. A full breakfast if offered daily. Every effort has been made to create a comfortable and intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Doe Hotel Manteo
The White Doe Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing