We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When you care to stay at the very best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
1 review
“When you care to stay at the very best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

This was a return visit and like the time before, it was a truly wonderful experience. The four-course breakfast was remarkable - a delicious and relaxing way to start any day. We have now had the pleasure of staying in four of the beautifully appointed bedroom suites on the second floor and we look forward with great anticipation to returning very soon. White Doe is our home away from home in the village of Manteo.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rome8186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    21
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
214
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

There is a reason why this “Inn” has the #1 ranking! We have done the “B&B” thing and White Doe Inn IS NOT A B&B!! No wonder this is the 3rd post in the past month!

This is one of the finest “Inns” we have stayed in .. bar none .. and we have been to many!! The owners (Bebe and Bob), staff, and accommodations are all above and beyond your usual expectations.

The Inn is beautiful with well kept gardens and located in a wonderful area of Manteo. Rooms are impeccable in décor, taste, and comfort. Service and attention to detail is unparalleled and exceeds many of the best hotels you might choose. The overall quality with “turn down” each night .. chocolates included was certainly appreciated. If you wish specifics .. just send me a message and I would be glad to elaborate.

The breakfast was truly a relaxing experience! Again, the service, and attention to detail was exceptional! The food, environment, and company, could not be beat. Who needs lunch after a feast like that!

I almost regret posting this as it may cost me a future booking next year, but DO go here if you have the opportunity! Wonderful place!!

Do say Hi to “Peace Train” ( local cat neighbor) when you arrive.

  • Liked — As relaxing as it could get. Breakfast out on the patio was wonderful .. rooms too!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SCB_JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Level Contributor
554 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

From the moment I contacted White Doe, I knew from the hospitality I received on the phone that it would meet my expectations.
We felt warm and cozy from the time we arrived from the beautiful room (Garrett room), and the hot coffee machine in the dining room with it's latte and expresso features, to the afternoon desserts.
Best of all, Breakfast was a four course extravanganza.
We never needed lunch because we were so FULL!
The property is located a few short blocks from the adorable waterfront with lots of art shops, and when we returned to the Inn,
" Peace Train", the world's friendliest cat greeted us. Don't worry if you have allergies...he is an outside kitty.
Bravo to White Doe...I highly recommend it. Bebe and Bob know how to roll out the red carpet!!!

Diane DeVaughn Stokes
Myrtle Beach, SC

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank TVHOST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

This was our second stay at the White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast and we LOVED IT!! I would highly recommend this Inn for many, many, reasons. The rooms are clean, clean, and clean. The sheets are nice, thick, and soft..not worn out old sheets at this Inn, and the bed was so very comfortable. Extra attention is given to the towels also which are plush and thick. The Inn is very quiet and the people who own the Inn really enjoy what they do.

The breakfast is fantastic and the service with it is great. The Dining Room where it is served is so very elegant to say the least. The sitting areas make you just want to curl up and read a book. Oh, all of the rooms we stayed in have a gas fireplace which is so nice on chilly nights. The Inn has a very southern charm to it that you have to experience.

They have several people there who help them run it and we enjoyed the friendship of Brittany. She is like a hostess and does the turndown on your bed everynight. But everyone who works there is so kind and helps you with ANYTHING that you need or did not find in your room. The kitchen staff does a great job.

They also put out several different deserts in the evening in the dining room. There is a coffee maker that is very expensive and you can have coffee, or expresso, or hot choc. or other kinds of coffee anytime of day. There is also Sherry in it's special decanter to be had when the mood strikes you.

The Inn itself and it's rooms are so well decorated and attention to detail has not been spared in this lovely Inn. The inside of the house looks like it should be in a magazine. It is so very plush and stately. The owners seem to always be restoring the Inn so it stays in this pristine condition. We plan on visiting there again because of all the special attention I have not found at other B&B's.

We only live about two hours away but find it is a great place to visit when you just what a weekend away. The beach is close and there are plenty of shops and restaurants also.

Again, I cannot say that there was anything wrong with this Inn. They even upgraded our room on the second stay. Oh, we even got Champagne and Chocolates in our room because we had stayed there before. It was a complimentary thank you for coming again. The chocolates were made there and were to die for. The Champagne was really nice also.

I would give it a 5 Star Rating!!!! Jim & Nancy

  • Liked — How clean the Inn was and how comfortable the accomodations were.
  • Disliked — WE did not stay there longer.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femmesebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

My stay at the White Doe Inn was great. It was clean, beautiful, and charming. The staff provided delicious meals,
nice suggestions for local excursions, and friendliness beyond
compare. I definitlely hope to return to such a pleasant
Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint town of Manteo,NC.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2008

Simply put: simply amazing! From the friendly staff to the cozy ambiance to the delicious breakfast and magic cookie bars -- not even the awful weather could dampen our spirits as we spent our 10th anniversary at the White Doe Inn. Thank you to all who made this visit and this Inn so very special!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank sharpkandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2008

My wife and I celebrated our 21st Anniversary here and stayed two nights. The home is beautiful, the breakfasts were huge, delightfully tasty, and varied each morning, and the owners were extremely pleasant and welcoming. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable, and clean. We could not ask for better service and cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — Welcoming atmosphere, peaceful
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TwoLabsandaWestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
6.9 mi away
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
Hamilton Cay at Bermuda Bay
#15 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
7.5 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sanderling Resort
Sanderling Resort
#1 of 1 in Duck
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 319 Sir Walter Raleigh St, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954-9007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodging, quality service, and island life await you at the White Doe Inn; located in the quaint, coastal village of Manteo on Roanoke Island, NC. All bedchambers are decorated with family heirlooms, turn-of-the-century antiques & reproductions with comfortable sitting areas and fireplaces. Several rooms offer spa tubs for two and balconies. A full breakfast if offered daily. Every effort has been made to create a comfortable and intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Doe Inn Bed And Breakfast
The White Doe Hotel Manteo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing