We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting and engaging historical attraction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roanoke Island Festival Park

Roanoke Island Festival Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.50*
and up
Outer Banks Paddleboard Eco Tour
Ranked #4 of 38 things to do in Manteo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive with a replica of Elizabeth II's era and costumed-sixteenth-century characters.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting and engaging historical attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really enjoyed the "Elizabeth II" - and the sailors aboard who told us about her and what life was like for the sailors of that period. The movie about the indians was a little long - and clearly aimed at school children - but it was well-done for what it was. Unfortunately the Lost Colony play was closed for the season when we were there - we'll have to catch it next time!

Well worth your time if you've got a family in tow - we did not, but generally enjoy historical exhibits and museums, and this one was pretty good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    121
    53
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were very excited about attending this festival as soon as we heard about it. We planned this trip to celebrate our anniversary. Parking was ridiculous, any information as to what could be taken in, times for arrival, etc. was non-existent. We attend many Bluegrass Festivals and this was not a festival. The music was fine however the MC was like a Catholic Nun and at every point scolded the crowd for something. Poorly planned, we left in the middle of the day for a few hours just to get away from the scolding. The portable toilets were the absolute worst I have ever been in.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell's Point, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OBX Bluegrass Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

What an awesome event! We had a blast. All 3 days were enjoyable. Noreaster on Sunday,(can 't control the weather) but moved inside at the Ramada and it was very good. The whole event was much better than we anticipated. We were very impressed that all the proceeds from Friday's event went to the Outer Banks Cancer Support Group. I talked with the group and they expressed how thankful they were to be a part of this event. It is nice to know that some people still believe in giving back. As for the entertainment...TOTALLY AWESOME!!! The vendors were great and I loved the pumpkin ice cream and the delicious coffee, iced or hot. As for the parking, we had no problem. Yes, there was handicapped parking on festival island on a first come, first serve basis. My Mom is handicapped and she got there early and secured a spot in the handicapped section. So glad they supplied a shuttle for $5.00 and yes, as with any event, you can have some wait time...as far as the homecoming parade delaying transport, the festival was planned months in advance of the homecoming( I know because I purchased our tickets for the event back in April 2011) and I am sure school officials knew this event was in place when they planned the homecoming. So what's done, is done. But, all-in-all, for a 1st time event, it went incredibly smooth and the no alcohol, family atmosphere was wonderful. We will definitely be back next year and hopefully in the years to come. We also plan to bring our small grandchildren next year, ages 6 and 2, because we know they will be in a good family environment and can dance and play and sing and clap their hands with Gramma and Grampa and have a good time. Thank you to the producers, the entertainers, the vendors, the festival park and the town of manteo for such a positive, family oriented event. We appreciate it so much. :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvander NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Much to learn about our history there via interesting displays and exhibits. Be sure to go on board the Queen Elizabeth II to get a taste of 16th sea travel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jbcvnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OBX Bluegrass Festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I drove in from Raleigh NC and had about 20 people in my party. Everyone had a blast. We parked at Fort Raleigh Lost Colony Parking and took the shuttles in both days. Could not believe how beautiful the Festival Park is and really enjoyed every aspect of the festival from the vendors to the bands to the staff. Everyone was exceptionally helpful and look forward to returning in 2013. We really liked the fact that the bathrooms in the building remained open for use and there was a good variety of food and shopping. Several of us went to a bar across the bridge on the left (cannt remember the name) to get out of the heat and get some drinks and then back to enjoy the rest of the evening's entertainment. Very well done!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ccurnnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roanoke Island Festival Park also viewed

 

Been to Roanoke Island Festival Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing