We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependably good”
Review of Box Lunch

Box Lunch
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Cuisines: Soups
Restaurant details
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Dependably good”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Our family has been having lunch at Box Lunch for two decades. This venerable establishment (more that 30 years in the Wellfleet store) is a great place for a good, reasonable-priced lunch on Cape Cod.

Their niche is the 'rollwich' - sandwich wraps. Their ingredients are fresh and the formula combines sandwich elements to create very tasteful combinations in which no single element dominates. Wife and I both like the John Alden - turkey with romaine, tomato, chopped sweet onion and cranberry sauce. And because every sandwich is made to order, wife can have hers without onion.

The downside is that the stores themselves are unpretentious and spartan. Wellfleet is tiny - there is only one eat-in table, while P'Town diners have to cluster around a few outside tables or sit on a sidewalk bulkhead. Neither of those stores have restrooms. Eastham has more tables and restrooms.

But the food is good and the price is right. So Bix Lunch will continue to be one of our regular stops

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monophoto-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    23
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches for beach or afterwards”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I would be completely content to get lunch every single day here during any vacation in Wellfleet (and I nearly often have done so). Great innovative sandwiches that are great to pick up a couple hours before heading to the beach or afterwards.

This obviously isn't a suit and tie establishment, but for what it is, this is a great value for your wallet and stomach!

Hope to stop in again this summer!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c k w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic Beach Lunch”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A visit to Box Lunch is often the culinary highlight of my yearly trip to Cape Cod. The Wellfleet location is always spot on with orders, even when the shop is packed. Personal favorites include: the Californian, the Priscilla Alden, and Porky Goes Hawaiian. The menu offers a variety of vegetarian options, and you can also grab chips and drinks to complete your beach picnic.
One tip if you're driving: the parking lot at the Wellfleet site is compact, so during the lunch time rush, be prepared to either wait for a spot to open up or have another person in the car with you who is able to drive around the block a few times while you wait for your order. Better still, call your order in ahead of time!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good sandwiches”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we stopped here on the way to the beach twice during our week long stay in Wellfleet, and I was unimpressed. I found the menu to be somewhat bizarre. All of the sandwiches are made with flour tortillas, which was fine but not my first choice. On the second day when I asked if there were any other bread options the server pointed to a tiny handwritten sign that said they also had white and wheat bread, however they were out of wheat bread. Oh well! Sandwiches were pretty good otherwise, and there are drinks and snacks as well. We also ate breakfast there one morning which was mediocre; there werent that many options and there happen to be a group of rowdy obnoxious workmen also having their breakfast that made the meal less pleasant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch option”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stopped here with my family to get a quick lunch to go before the beach, and it was perfect. The staff working there were very friendly and efficient, and the sandwitches (which were more like wraps) were fresh, delicious, and great for taking to the beach.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank slidingsands87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Box Lunch also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Box Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing