We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold in the Wall but Fantastic- Best Chowder on the Cape”

Catch of the Day Seafood Market & Grill
Ranked #21 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh seafood, to take home from our market, or cooked for you off our incredible menu, featuring Fish Tacos, fish & chips, Grilled and Cajun Fish entrees, an extensive sandwich menu. Early Bird specials from 11:30 to 5:30 PM, and a new summer Happy hour from 3 to 5 PM featuring a variety of our appetisers and shellfish buckets at reduced prices.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
382 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Hold in the Wall but Fantastic- Best Chowder on the Cape”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stopped here on our way back from Provincetown as we really did not see any good place there. The clam chowder is the best we have had on the Cape, the Clam Belly Roll was fabulous and the fish tacos amazing! Best oysters on the half shell - extremely fresh! Great service. We were totally satisfied! Yummm!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    68
    18
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fish tacos to die for!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've eaten fish tacos from Maui to Miami, and these were by far the best ever. Huge serving - 3 great big tacos. Large chunks of assorted fresh fish, delicious homemade salsa with just the right amount of cilantro, and the sauce....delightful! Can't wait to go back next time. Check out the photos.
Al & Kathy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alusk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Update on previous review....from summer 2012”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The "Catch" is closed now for the season, but thought I would update a previous review from last year. We live in Wellfleet and since this nice restaurant has been open, we have been there at least 30 times and sent many friends. But something happened for the 2012 season....the portion size decreased significantly and the prices went up too much for "regulars" (tourists are usually willing to pay more) like us. The waitstaff was as great as usual, including the nice newly done outdoor patio area, but it seems like something changed in the kitchen....skimpy portions, service from kitchen not as good....? new recipes ? Not sure what changed, but we went only a couple of times this summer...friends felt the same. Definitely hoping it will improve for 2013....however, Wellfleet is a busy spot in the summer so possibly the tourist business is good enough for business. With the increased prices/changed cooking/less friendly kitchen....this dropped to an "average" rating for the locals. No longer head and shoulders above the other local spots.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lollywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
“Best Service Around”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I love this place! The year they opened we were staying on Lieutenant Island, so they were gloriously close by and even steamed our lobsters for us so we could race them back to the house to eat them. I hate killing the lobsters myself. Their clam chowder is outstanding. When we are cooking at home we always go here to pick up our seafood. And usually a large bucket or two of the chowder. But the best, best thing about this place is that they are the NICEST people ever. Great service will always keep me coming back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple yet elegant”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Superb fresh food, simply prepared, in a great atmosphere. Try to sit out at the back if you can get a spot there. Fabulous deserts, too!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peasmould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch of the Day Seafood Market & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Catch of the Day Seafood Market & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing