We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bookstore & Restaurant

Bookstore & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Seafood dining on Cape Cod, paired with an exquisite bookstore - enjoy the waterfront views at the Bookstore & Restaurant in Wellfleet. Since 1964, three generations of our family have come together to create the recipes that showcase seafood dining and family comfort. Many of our dishes have become classics on the Outer Cape. Combining our love for seafood and simplicity, we offer our customers unique waterfront dining on what we consider the most beautiful harbor in the world.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“disappointing service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

expecting to have dinner and drinks but found the service and wait times totally unacceptable - so we left.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Webber2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    242
    79
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“So fresh, so friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This restaurant reminds me of a 1959's style seaside fast food restaurant, only it's quite large, and the seafood is exquisitely fresh, prepared simply, and is extraordinarily good. The oysters and mussels were beautifully flavored, and the fries were crispy, hot, and very fresh. Salads were average but good. Sorry, but the lobster meat, while flavorful, was tough. the lobster roll was filled with meat tho.

In a weathered wood old building, across from the Wellfleet Harbor parking lot, views of Cape Cod Bay and the sand were stunning from the 2 nd floor. Sit outside upstairs if you can. The wait staff was unusually efficient, happy, and friendly. If you are in Wellfleet for lunch especially, this is a not to be missed.

Cannot understand what went wrong to produce the negative reviews! It is simple but excellent. Yes, there is a bookstore too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Food and great service, always a good combination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Bookstore & Restaurant was an awesome find! On a recent trip through Cape Code we drove into the town of Wellfleet at lunch time and it was good karma that we did. The Wellfleet Oysters, taken from the oyster beds in the inlet in front of the establishment, could not have been better. Briny and clean. The clam chowder was creamy and rich with just the right mix of clams to potatoes. The BEST ever steamed clams in a garlic broth (using bread to sop up the juices!) and finally their fried seafood plate: shrimp, scallops, and whole belly clams - yummy. All of this was served by Rachel, who was knowledgeable, attentive, and truly friendly. Wow, what a combination. Good service AND Great food. You have got to check it out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OK2BU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Oysters Don't Get any More Local or Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived in the sleepy town of Wellfleet just about lunchtime. One of the first rules of dining while traveling that I learned was to look for the restaurant with the most cars parked in the lot. The Bookstore Restaurant seemed to be the ticket. We circled the place twice and confirmed that in fact, there was a bookstore in the back. Our order... you guessed it, freshly shucked Wellfleet Oysters and Clam Chowder. We threw in a plate of Steamed Littleneck clams and their fried seafood sampler which was an assortment of wholebelly clams, scallops and shrimp. We learned later that the oysters they serve come out of the oyster beds that they own which are literally across the street from the restaurant.

The meal was heaven on earth! The Wellfleet Oyster possessed a pleasingly shocking salty liquor that complimented the sweet, crisp meat. The clam chowder – the best I have had on this trip so far. A creamy concoction with succulent tender clams and potatoes just the right size and tooth. It tasted wonderful! The steamed clams were luscious and served in an amazing broth and the fried platter was lightly battered and lightly fried – perfect.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Freshest oysters ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We met a friend here for lunch and found the restaurant much better than our last visit a few years ago. My oyster po'boy had the best fried oysters I've ever tasted and my husband loved his raw Wellfleet oysters. Not surprising that they taste so good since they have to travel only a few yards from the sea to the restaurant! We'll definitely be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bookstore & Restaurant also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Bookstore & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing