We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage in dunes on Cape Cod National Seashore”
Review of Surf Side Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellfleet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surf Side Cottages
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cottage in dunes on Cape Cod National Seashore”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Great family escape to a three bedroom cottage in the dunes above LeCount Hollow Beach on the Cape Cod National Seashore.

I am writing because I saw a dated review (2006) that slammed the cottage where we stayed. It may be that the cottages have been updated, that they are being serviced better, or that the previous reviewer was looking for a high-end experience versus a cottage experience but we a great experience.

There are other cottages close by but we had an absolutely beautiful view with a lovely breeze. It was a short walk to the water through the dunes. The ocean tides can be rough and the water is colder than the bay side but there is much to enjoy if you love the ocean. The seals frequent the beach so watch out for sharks if there are seals in the water (there was a report of 5 great white sharks the week we were there). Our family spent quiet nights playing games, cooking out, and going to the local establishments for food and drink. The last night we drove to Provincetown to take in the sights and a last dinner together. Great general store with excellent coffee just down the road.

This is a cottage experience, not a hotel. We found it to be a great escape.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank calilregit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2008

The newly renovated cottages are ery nice now. The kitches have all been redone.
As far as crickets and animal noise are concerned, remember you are in the woods. There are also ticks.
I'm going back this year.

  • Liked — fully equipped kitchens
  • Disliked — beach access was down a steep dune
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Laceyknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, VT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

I have stayed at the SurfSide Cottages for the last 10 years. Before that we stayed at a cottage that is now part of the National Seashore. So in total, we have been going to LeCount Hollow Beach for 15 years. As a child in the 1950s, I also had the priveledge of experiencing LeCount Hollow, White Crest, Newcomb Hollow and the ponds.

My family and extended family have also stayed there.
My daughter (who is now 23) yelled out the window at age 12 driving over up Ocean view Drive: "this is my favorite place in the world!"

For us Surfside and LeCount Hollow beach have many very special and fond memories: the cousins playing charades at ages 5,7, 9, 10, 12. The cousins on the beach all reading Harry Potter(the youngest pretending to read) . Body surfing, sand castles, seaweed avoidance. There are so many special memories, poems written, albums of pictures, friends we have shared this special place with that it is hard to say it all in a few paragraphs. The cottages are simple and clean. Many have new appliances and are in no way extravagant. Marcia and jim Sexton are stewards of this special place. They care for each cottage and recommend to the owners things that might need to be reparied or upgraded. The cottages have been around for a very long time and have been taken good care of. They do show weathering, but so would you if you had withstood hurricanes, blizzards and harsh winds for 50+ years! You can hear the water from the front few cottages, the moon over the dunes is a sight to behold. Then there are the fresh water ponds to explore. There are more than just the big ones (Great, Gull, Long) There are many more, but you have to be willing to explore on foot and take some wrong turns in the thick National Park forest. That is a part of Cape Cod that few people expereince, I highly recommend it.

This past weekend (last weekend on October) we stayed in Breakers with my husband, daughter (the one yelling out the window), our dog (who cannot come in the summer), stepdaughter and son in law. What an incredible weekend we had. It was a full moon, beautiful sunrise on an empty beach.
We walked, hiked, biked, and enjoyed the quiet. We have now introduced this special place to more of our family. My dream is to have my whole family including one grandchild now, be at Surfside all at the same time...It may never happen, but what are we without our dreams?


If you are looking for fancy, all the conveniences, staff to clean every day, then Surfside is not for you. If you are looking for a place to ground yourself , without distraction as only the sea
can, then surfside is the place for you.


Whenever I introduce this place to someone new, I always talk about how grateful I am to John F. Kennedy and his administration for having the foresight and wisdom to declare this part of Cape Cod, National Seashore and a national treasure back in 1963. Had he not done that, we would not be able to appreciate this treasure as Thoreau did as he walked Cape Cod in 1854. It is a rare place where we can find that kind of quiet in our daily lives.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pbarash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

After reading and researching our long awaited Cape Cod vacation in several guidebooks and internet sites, we decided on the highly recommended Surfside Cottages near the beach in Wellfleet, and booked "the Breakers" cottage. What a disappointment. We were promised a spacious 3 bedroom cottage in excellent condition with an ocean view. I had stressed that I wanted a very quiet, clean and private cottage.What we got was a delapidated beach shack with no water view infested with crickets and other bugs with holes in the foundation, layers of dust and dirt, old sandy carpet, and stained countertops. The screens were covered in spider webs and dead bugs. We were kept awake every night by crickets in the room and under the floors. After finally falling into a fitful sleep we were awakened each morning to the 2 loud barking German shepherds in the cottage next door (the website makes the cottages appear much further apart then they are) and dead and live crickets on the floors and furniture-yuck!. Neither the indoor nor outdoor showers worked when we arrived and there were no hooks to hang towels (these were fixed eventually). Everything was old and worn. The beds were not comfortable and there was animal hair on the blankets and pillows. It smelled moldy and a thick layer of dust and dirt was behind and under all the furniture. We later found out that the former owners had sold all the properties as condo's and no longer took extensive care of them-relying on the new owners for that. Had I known this I never would have rented this 200/night cottage. The location was nice and it was quiet and peaceful other than the barking dogs. There is an access road with a decent walk to a nice but crowded ocean beach with rough surf mainly for surfers. We enjoyed walking and running on the beach and even went for a short swim in the 59 degree post-hurricane surf. But there are much nicer beaches north and south of this one such as Race Point, Coast Guard, Nauset, Head of the Meadow and Marconi beaches. We could not wait to leave "the Breakers" cottage and spent our last night in a lovely inn in Provincetown for some much needed sleep and cleanliness. Avoid this place at all costs-you can do much better in Wellfleet-such as Aunt Sukie's B and B, The Even'tide cottages, etc.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank beachrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AAudette, Manager at Surf Side Cottages, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Surfside Cottages has been under new management since 2008 with a special emphasis on cleanliness and customer service. We invite the reviewers to "try us again" because I am confident that their opinion would be different this time. Many of the cottages have undergone renovations and updating and all provide unique and enjoyable seaside accommodations in the Cape Cod National Seashore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
13.5 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
954 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.9 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Southfleet Motor Inn
Southfleet Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Wellfleet
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Side Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Side Cottages

Property: Surf Side Cottages
Address: P.O. Box 937, Ocean View Drive at Wilson Ave, Wellfleet, MA 02667-0937
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Wellfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Cottages located in the Cape Cod National Seashore, all just a short walk to the Atlantic Ocean beach at LeCount Hollow (MaGuire's Landing), South Wellfleet, Massachusetts. Open April 1 to November 1 and offering one, two and three bedroom housekeeping cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Side Cottages Hotel Wellfleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing