We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Location But....”

Chez Sven Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellfleet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Sven Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 10 Wellfleet B&B and Inns
Sharon, MA
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Quiet Location But....”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

There are definitely lots of positive qualities to Chez Sven: the quiet location up a dirt road off of Route 6, only a few minutes' drive from Wellfleet Center; the lovely gardens surrounding the house; and the pleasant proprietors, Sandy and Sven, who (as Sandy said) give people lots of space and privacy. All of that makes for a very relaxed setting.

That said -- and we say this with some reluctance -- we were much less enthused about our stay at Chez Sven than others who've reviewed the B&B on Trip Advisor. It didn't help that Sandy was very much under the weather during our visit and that, as a result, the "wholesome breakfast" that we'd been looking forward to sampling (based on other reviewers' comments, as well as the description on the B&B Web site) wasn't part of our stay (except for the homemade yogurt).

But even apart from that, the B&B was much less of a value than other B&Bs we've visited on Cape Cod. While we understand the charm and coziness that some people find in well-worn furnishings (e.g., the well-worn rug in our room, the Green Room) or cluttered common spaces (e.g., the very much lived-in kitchen or the small sitting area off of it), these qualities came as a surprise to us, given the impression presented on the B&B Web site and (again) the comments of other reviewers. In the end, while we still managed to enjoy our stay, it left us feeling that we paid somewhat more for our visit than was warranted.

If you're looking for a relaxed getaway in a rustic setting where you can stay with some very nice and interesting people, then Chez Sven is worth considering as an off-the-beaten path option in Wellfleet.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank DGandSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
10
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Wellfleet is a gem of a town & Chez Sven's is well located, although we missed the turn-off to the Old King's Hwy (low hanging branch). Bring your bikes - makes beaches accessible and great for end of day trips to Long Pond for a swim . The innkeepers are very accommodating, very responsive. We booked the Green Room. We asked about DVD player, which not part of room, but they accommodated us by finding one, which added to our stay. The offer of fresh towels would have been welcomed, given the humidity, beaching & biking. Access to a indoor or outdoor sitting area would have added to our stay as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrodoBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We will be back. The morning swim (Dyer pond) before breakfast (exellent!, and outdoors if you choose) was very enjoyable and refreshing...highly recommend it when you stay at chez sven (bring ORGANIC MOSQUITO REPELLENT.."it works" since there is a 12-15 minute wooded hike to the Dyer KETTLE pond....its worth it.). Clean, friendly and good conversation, nice gardens. We stayed in the Green Room, very satisfied. Suprising cool during hot days and nights at this spot. Very private and quiet, only 15-20 minutes to Provincetown.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theborg1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiscasset, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

What I really like about the Irving House is that they try to include everything to make your stay pleasant- no extra charges. Free parking, high speed internet, much improved breakfast with hot entree, museum passes, snacks all day, even wine and cheese and free books to take home! Nice outside decks in good weather. They really seem to care about you. Knowledgeable people at the front desk are happy to recommend restaurants, call a taxi, etc. Rooms have been recently refurbished.
They are also 'Green'- just installed solar hot water panels on the roof etc. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytourist79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

After a week in the General's Green Room, it was hard to leave our new 'home' on Cape Cod: a charming clapboard cottage down a track in the middle of the woods, just outside laid-back Wellfleet. Sandy and Sven are incredibly welcoming, interesting, helpful hosts, and the sympathetic, yet spotlessly fresh decor in the rooms fits the place perfectly. Their green credentials are second to none, and Wellfleet itself is a great base for a trip to the Cape, too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southlambeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Chez Sven is a great little B&B. It feels like you're very far away from things, with it being on a dirt road, yet it's just off of Rte. 6. The accommodations are very comfortable and clean. Breakfasts are delicious and very healthy -- fresh fruit salad, home-made grainola, yogurt, home baked pastries; if weather permits, you can eat al fresco. Sandy and Sven are very friendly, and we immediately felt at home. We will definitely go back there on our next visit to Cape Cod.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbear986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We arrived for a long weekend and were in for such a treat. The weather was great, Cape Cod was deserted and the B&B was divine. We stayed in the Seagull cottage. The fridge was stocked with all sorts of goodies and the cottage itself is so cute and cosy. We ate breakfast on the porch and listend to the birds and watched the chipmunks in between reading and dozing. The cottage is very secluded and Wellfleet is a very cute town. We ate at the wicked oyster for dinner. It is just a few minutes walk from the cottage and the food was great. Don't miss out on a visit to nearby Duck Harbor.

  • Liked — The privacy
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
12.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,000 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.1 mi away
The Wagner at Duck Creek
The Wagner at Duck Creek
#3 of 10 in Wellfleet
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
51 reviews
2.5 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
3.3 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Sven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Sven Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chez Sven Bed and Breakfast
Address: Old King's Hwy, Wellfleet, MA 02667
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wellfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing