We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably great feed and atmosphere”
Review of Mac's Shack

Mac's Shack
Ranked #3 of 49 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mac's Shack is all about the pure goodness of the season's local harvest. Your taste buds will shout "hello summer!" Ice cold Wellfleet Oysters, tender lobster dripping with butter, mouthwatering sushi, and the freshest seafood served on the Cape - made exactly how you like it. This is the kind of food that makes you happy.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reliably great feed and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

On every visit to Wellfleet, we go to Mac's Shack - sometimes more than twice in a vacation week! This is our go-to place. Since there are no reservations taken, we either go early or plan on a wait of about an hour. While waiting, we sit/stand in the bar area and order appetizers. Of course, we start with a dozen oysters and move on to sushi. Excellent oysters, but tough to go wrong when in wellfleet and everything is so fresh. The stand out here is the sushi. Unbelievable. Try the Big Kahuna - fabulous. There is a great vibe in the bar area. Lots of different ages, so everyone from twenty-somethings to sixty-somethings seem right at home. The main entrees are done well, but I think could use a bit of a shake up. I think I have seen pretty much the same entrees here for about 3 years. But even the stuff on there always delivers something above the norm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flashindapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    178
    35
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great oysters!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Went here for a light meal and drinks. Some of the best oysters I have ever had! A bit pricey but comparable to area. Bought the oysters at their fish market for half the price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KiraK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We visited in early October - ordered sushi, steamers, oysters, multiple apps and desserts. Everything was great, the food, atmospere and service. Compared to other places on the outer cape it is really eclectic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank william b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Valley, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Can't beat Wellfleet!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Even for the off season, this place is busy and for reason- the food is fresh! The inside is pretty bare - tables very close together and it's quite noisy. However the oysters ($2.00 each) are great! Broiled Scallops (22.00) equally so. Pretty hard to complain when food is this good. Lobster however was too pricey for our budget at 32.00 for 1 1/2 lb. Their new England Clam Chowder comes gluton and pork free!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Bergen, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best sushi that I've had on the Cape so far.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I've been going here since they opened, every time I come to the Cape for vacation, which is every year. They just get better and better. They make great cocktails, have great sushi and sashimi, oysters and clams on the half shell, and imaginative entrees as well. This year, they were even better than before, and we must have eaten dinner here four times during our stay. It's nice and casual, and can get noisy, but the food makes it all worthwhile. They must be doing something right to keep my loyalty, and God forbid they ever close. They don't take reservations, so you may have to wait for a table, but during shoulder season, the wait is usually less then 30 minutes for a party of four. I and my wife just love, love, love Mac's shack, and it is one of the most welcome additions to the Wellfleet dining experience in the dozen or so years I've stayed here. You just can't find fresher fish than you can here, and their sushi is a shining example.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoSybarites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac's Shack also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Mac's Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing