We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few issues, but not a bad stay.”
Review of Mainstay Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mainstay Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A few issues, but not a bad stay.”
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We ended up at the Mainstay Motor Inn for the 4th of July weekend because it was the only hotel between Provincetown and Wellfleet that had any vacancy, so we were thrilled just to find a place. It's by no means a luxury resort - just your average Cape Cod motel - but during the summer you can expect to pay upwards of $150 per night. Our room looked like it was decorated in 1970, with the exception of the huge flatscreen high-definition TV. The bed was clean and comfortable, the room didn't have any noticeable odors, and the breakfast was free (pretty much just coffee and muffins). The AC worked moderately well at cooling the room, but was even better for helping muffle the sounds coming from upstairs. A few issues though: the water pressure was strange. It would be flowing fine, and then it would do this loud, stop-and-start blasting, as if the faucet was choking and coughing up the water. The location was also a bit of an issue because we took the ferry and were relying on Cape Cod's very limited transit and taxi services. Nothing much in the immediate area, but the bus to Provincetown and Harwich stops about 3/4 mile down Route 6 at Farrell's Market. A cab ride to The Beachcomber restaurant from Wellfleet's only taxi wasn't cheap either. But if you're driving to your Cape Cod vacation (which most folks do) then none of that would be an issue for you.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed and huge flat screen TV
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CrashDavis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    10
    7
    14
See reviews for
17
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ROCHESTER
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We originally chose this hotel based on price and location—halfway down the Lower Cape, between Orleans and Provincetown—and we would certainly stay there again. Our room had a king bed with a pillow top -- one of the most comfortable beds I've ever had in a hotel. We also had a 42-inch HDTV with full digital cable, which was a real treat. The property has several resident dogs that were very friendly and calm, and while the hotel does not offer some of the usual amenities (no blow dryer or ironing board/iron in room, for example), we did have a refrigerator and two dressers, which were good for a weeklong stay. Note that the hotel does not seem to offer wireless internet -- while we picked up an intermittent signal from a Linksys router in the vicinity, it was not reliable enough to be useful. Overall, a satisfying stay with the quality you'd expect from a Cape Cod Route 6 hotel.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable bed, 42-inch HDTV
  • Disliked — Internet access was virtually nonexistent
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ParkAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leone2788
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2008

I had searched EVERYWHERE for a decent place to stay for my long weekend in the Cape. After reading reviews on dozens of different hotels and inns this one finally gave me confidence to make a booking -- and you know what? it was great! We are a newly engaged couple (I am 20 and my fiance is 25) and this was perfect for us.

We stayed in the King Sized room with LCD screen tv. The room was great, smelled clean and fresh, with a small yet doable bathroom. The mainstay has a great pool, friendly family-owned staff and the maidservice is great. I don't think they changed our sheets everyday, but that is fine. We pretty much only slept there and besides its a little more eco friendly to do it that way.

There was a great mini fridge and microwave to keep and reheat leftovers from the great restaurants nearby. The Mainstay is in a perfect spot. Hardly 20 minutes from Provincetown, 10-15 minutes to either the bay side or ocean side beach, and there is plenty of great dining around. (I HIGHLY reccommend the Winslow Tavern on Main Street!)

Anyways, it's a great place to sleep. Nothing fancy. It's great for families and couples. I'd definitely stay there again. (Great rates too!)

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — no wifi :(
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leone2788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2007

Had a wonderful stay nice and clean very friendly service and their dogs Bloo and Chewy my kids just loved.

  • Liked — Friendly service and great location
  • Disliked — no wifi in rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Larson270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2006

Great family owned, family oriented hotel to stay at. We had stayed here and had a wonderful time. It is so close to everything! Excellent service and very helpful staff make it one of the upper cape's top choices for us.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 72camaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 14, 2006

The Main Stay is a fabulous, affordable place to stay in Wellfleet; comfortable, clean, friendly ownership... I've stayed here 5 or 6 times with my family over the years and find the accomodations more than adequate. The rooms are SPOTLESS and well kept. I highly recommend The Main Stay Motor Inn.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 14, 2005

My wife and I were looking forward to going to a wedding in Wellsfleet down on the Cape. We had made reservations at the MainStay Motor Inn 3 weeks previous. When we arrived early the day of our reservation the clerk could not find our name in the book. Apparantely the owners son "moved" us for someone else and forgot to put us down in another room. All the owner offered was for us to sleep in their parlor, saying that we were should go on our own and try to find another hotel. There was no offer to help or pay for another hotel. Fortunately we found another hote,l the EvenTide, which had an available room for more money. Anyway, for anyone DO NOT GO TO THE MAINSTAY MOTOR INN!!! in Wellsfleet Cape Cod, unless you want to sleep in the owners parlor.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellfleet hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
12.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
913 reviews
12.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
862 reviews
2.3 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#2 of 4 in Wellfleet
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
Southfleet Motor Inn
Southfleet Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Wellfleet
129 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Motor Inn

Property: Mainstay Motor Inn
Address: 2068 State Hwy Rte 6, Box 295, Wellfleet, MA 02663
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mainstay Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Mainstay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Motor Hotel Wellfleet
Mainstay Hotel Wellfleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing