We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for clean, quiet and friendly???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southfleet Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Reviewed September 21, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Southfleet Motor Inn for three nights in September 2007. We were on the top floor of the 2-story building a bit offset from the road. On Sat night the place was pretty full, by Monday there were few guests.

We were very happy at the Southfleet. The place was quiet with minimal road or neighbor noise. The rooms were spacious and clean. The towels were a bit on the skimpy size but the maid brought us extras the third day (without even having to ask). Staff were friendly. Rates were very low (~$89/night with the AAA discount).

The location is very good for tootling around the Cape. Right on highway 6 just south of Wellfleet, easy drives to P-Town and the beaches. There are two excellent restaurants next door (Catch of the Day and Van Renssalaer) - nice to walk to supper, have a glass of vino and not have to drive back.

I highly recommend this modest but fully adequate and pleasing motor inn. This is the type of place we where we like to stay - nothing fancy, just clean, quiet and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perkypetfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Southfleet Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 135 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2007

Pleasant and clean. Easy 1 mile walk/bike to Marconi Beach. Spacious room, with some cross-ventilation. 2 gripes with the bathroom -- the towels were thin and small (I 6'2"/200lb, and needed 2 after a shower), and the exhaust fan didn't work.

But we enjoyed the pool, and the location -- very relaxing. Staff were pleasant.

This was our first time on Cape Cod, and from I found in searching, and from what I've heard, this was decent value for August there. Anywhere else I'd expect much nicer linens for $150/night (AAA discount).

But we enjoyed the clams & oysters in Wellfleet so much, we didn't mind really.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bobert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

A nice clean, affordable, comfortable place to stay. They made our stay enjoyable. We had a problem with our shower head and they came in 5 minutes to see the problem and the next day we had a new shower head. The restaurant next door was great for dinner one night and drinks after dinner one night. The hotel is accross the street from Marconi Beach. The water was so cold it was numbing but it was nice walking the beach. There is also a nice restaurant on the other side of our hotel. We ate at both places and enjoyed them.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivernewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

Wellfleet has always been my Husband's family vacation spot. We like to stay here because it has two pools. The indoor pool is large and warm. It's great for an evening swim or if the weather is bad. The restaruant next door has excellent food-esp. breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank aqua-n-sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2005

I've been coming to the Cape since I was a child, and am quite familiar with the standard of motel lodging - so I don't find it unusual when there's a bit of mold and/or brusque service despite shelling out over $100/night. Thankfully (and surprisingly), there was none of that at the Southfleet.

I made a phone reservation only a week in advance, requesting 2 double beds. The clerk apologetically confessed they had only 2 queens, which I gladly accepted. Two days later, however, our party had downsized and I called to modify the reservation to a single queen. I was concerned because one reviewer had said the management had been very rude regarding changes, but the person I spoke with was very courteous and offered a single king at the queen price (as there were no more queens available).

Check-in was no problem - the clerk was very friendly and suggested places to eat. The room did smell a bit musty at first, and there was a little damp rot near a hidden edge of the sink, but otherwise the room was very clean, and both the bed and room were unexpectedly large. The air conditioner worked well, and the full cable and in-room coffeemaker (with free coffee packets) was a nice touch for a roadside motel.

We did not use either pool (we walked the mile to the beach across the street), but both appeared to be clean and were full of people.

Staying down Cape on short notice is never going to be a good value, but for $120/night I was quite pleased with the Southfleet, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JR1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2005

Cannot say enough good things about value, cleanliness, service, and friendliness of staff.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mbaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballaro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellfleet
2.6 mi away
Ocean Park Inn Cape Cod
5.0 mi away
Wellfleet Motel
Wellfleet Motel
#3 of 4 in Wellfleet
234 reviews
5.9 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
263 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
52 reviews
4.0 mi away
Viking Shores Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southfleet Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southfleet Motor Inn

Address: 999 State Hwy, Wellfleet, MA 02642-2550
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wellfleet
Price Range: $107 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Southfleet Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Year Built - 1974 Additional Property Description - 34 Room Motor Inn Is Surrounded By National Sea Shore And Opposite The Entrance To Marconi Beach, Bike Trail Access, Large Indoor Heated Pool And Hot Tub, Large Outdoor Pool, Sauna, Kids Playground, Game Room, Barbeque And Picnic Area, Guest Laundromat, And Morning Coffee. Free Wireless Internet Access For Our Guests. We Also Have 3 Restaurants Adjacent To The Property. Family Friendly Establishment. Room Amenities For All Rooms - Room Cable/HBO / Direct Dial Telephone / Hairdryer / Non Smoking / Private Bath Or Shower / Refrigerator / Voice Mail 1 King - Max Occupancy - 2, Room Description - 1 King Bed, Cable TV, A/C, Fridge, Wi-Fi 2 Queen - Max Occupancy - 4, Room Description - 2 Queen Beds, Cable TV, A/C, Fridge, Wi-Fi Deluxe - Max Occupancy - 5, Room Description - 2 Queen Beds, Pull Out Queen Sized Sleeper Sofa, Cable TV, A/C, Fridge, Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Southfleet Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southfleet Motor Hotel Wellfleet
Southfleet Hotel Wellfleet
Southfleet Motel Wellfleet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing