We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but $$$$$”

Mac’s On the Pier
Ranked #12 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Order at the window. Send the kids to scout a table on the sand. This is the place for a plate of fried clams with a slow summer sunset on the side. Steamers with broth and drawn butter, a lobster roll, a fried fish sandwich, onion rings--they're Cape Cod classics for a reason. There may be nothing better. But here's satisfaction for those who might crave something else: grilled tuna with summer vegetables and ponzu, a scallop burrito, fish tacos, Caribbean fish stew. And ice cream, of course: sundaes and frappes, soft-serve and scooped - served every night until 10pm. Our honest-to-goodness clam shack. Right on Wellfleet harbor, next to our original fish market.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
203 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good food but $$$$$”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We used to love this place but their prices have skyrocketed. Fine location. Order at the window and eat at picnic tables overlooking the Bay. Good lobster rolls, but Maurice's S on 6 has just as good gor 40% less. Food is fine, but prices out of line.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bird-Fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    116
    34
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A taste of Wellfleet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Mac's on the Pier shares the same space as the seafood market and it seems to be a bit of an institution with locals and vacationers. A window, a large menu and a lot of fresh seafood up for grabs. Seating at Mac's is either on the deck or out on the sand beneath brollies or the blaring sunshine. It was nice that the weather became sunnier as we headed north on the cape.

It was a trio of seafood dishes for us as we shaded ourselves and took in the grassy dunes and shimmering harbour. And then our order number was called. Small fried cod (11.99) and the first lobster roll (13.99) on this trip. The fish is just as it should be - flakey and juicy inside a crisp lightly crumbed coating.

The lobster roll was smaller than I was expecting. I guess being in the States had conditioned me to over-sized portions being the norm, but a roll 11cm long threw me a little. Not that I cared. I mean, look where we were. Sitting on sunny Cape Cod eating seafood by the harbour. As for the lobster, which was pretty generous by the way, it was beautifully fresh, juicy and lightly tossed in mayo dressing.

We almost left without trying the whole bellied clams (18.99). This is fried food at some of its best. A small portion was actually big enough as my eating companion wasn't all that keen on them. I, however, relished the crunchy little fella's. Being whole bellied means the gastrointestinal tract is left intact, adding more of an "ocean" flavour to the juicy molluscs. A spritz of lemon and dunk into tartare sauce is all they needed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heneedsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great fresh seafood.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

The best lobster bisque and clam chowder in the area. We bought 2lb lobsters and they cooked them free. Excellent service and the freshest and best selection of seafood in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PK002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fresh Seafood out there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Practically from the water to your mouth. Some awesome, if somewhat pricey, sushi.

Wish there was somewhere proper to sit. Carry out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Closed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Closed the weekend we arrived...what a shame they don't want to serve off season travelers. Most of us are seniors and appreciate lots of fish and seafood in our diets. Nice people, but they were gone too soon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dshadow205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac’s On the Pier also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Mac’s On the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing