We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and the food was not impressive”

Mac’s On the Pier
Ranked #12 of 47 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Order at the window. Send the kids to scout a table on the sand. This is the place for a plate of fried clams with a slow summer sunset on the side. Steamers with broth and drawn butter, a lobster roll, a fried fish sandwich, onion rings--they're Cape Cod classics for a reason. There may be nothing better. But here's satisfaction for those who might crave something else: grilled tuna with summer vegetables and ponzu, a scallop burrito, fish tacos, Caribbean fish stew. And ICE CREAM, of course: sundaes and frappes, soft-serve and scooped - served every night until 9:30 pm. Our honest-to-goodness clam shack. Right on Wellfleet harbor, next to our original fish market.
indianapolis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and the food was not impressive”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is probably the most advertised restaurant in Wellfleet. The Mac's on the Pier is in a very convenient location, as it is right near Mayo Beach. The ice cream is good, but ridiculously overpriced. $6 for a milkshake!!
The food, as well, is quite expensive for take-out.
The Beachcomber is far, far better!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank shakespeare08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    119
    35
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“had the fried fish quesadilla”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

well it was a fried piece of fish, and there wasnt much of it to fit into a wrap... pretty disappointing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KatnJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh, fresh fish”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Mac's has a great selection of locally caught fish and shellfish. They also stock many of the fixins to go with the seafood -- sauces, lemons, corn, potatoes, onions, garlic etc. We got wonderful swordfish and super fresh mussels at Mac's. All were well worth the price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dinchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced,slow service, decent food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Dissappointed with this choice. Very small lobster roll for 14 bucks.All the food we ordered was cold yet it took over 20 minutes to get it once it was ordered. I had wanted to order the lobster dinner for $28, but they wouldn't substitute a salad for the potato and corn on the cob,both of which I don't eat. Young one had a grilled cheese for $6. All this when there is no service, paper plates, get your own everything..... Food tasted good,but not great. $45 later I was still hungry! We had only ordered one drink. Another negative, the darn bathroom was FAR at the end of the pier.
I counted 280 steps, so if you are with older folks or very young,be aware. Not a disaster, but not worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wkdwtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream, Good Dinner”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

During a week in Cape Cod we had dinner once and ice cream three times at Mac's. The lines for ice cream were long but moved quickly. It was worth the wait. The portions were big, the flavors fantastic. Dinner was good, fairly priced, but nothing out of the ordinary. It was nice to eat outside at night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoNuts359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mac’s On the Pier also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Mac’s On the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing