We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property
Deck looking Northwest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deck looking Northwest
Deck View Cottage from top of Stairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Deck looking Northwest
Deck View
Cottage from top of Stairs
Cottage from Waters edge
Driveway entrance to the Cottage
Living Room, Kitchen, Dining Room
Kitchen and Dining Room
Dining Area
Kitchen and Living Room
Living Area
Master Bedroom
Guest Bedroom
Bathroom
Outdoor Shower
Kayaker from cottage deck.
Lieutenant Island from Above
Sunrise from the cottage deck with view of Great Island and Wellfleet harbor.
Lieutenant Island boathouse. Loagy Cove.
Mid tide Lieutenant Island marsh near the bridge.
North side of the island looking east towards Loagy Bay
Driveway to the cottage, low tide, with view of Great Island.
Sunset view from the north side of the island
Sunset with Lieutenant Island in background.
Cottage bench at sunset with Great Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wellfleet, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mobile798...
1 review
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed October 22, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

The cottage was exactly what we were looking for. It was just the right size for us and the view right on the beach was amazing. Priced very well compared to many others I had previously looked at before booking our stay at this cottage. The owners of the cottage were great at making sure we were prepared for our stay and would have everything we needed to know before arriving. We only wish we could have stayed longer. If we ever plan on coming back to cape cod I’ll be looking at this cottage again before I look anywhere else.

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2018
Thank you for the kind review Ryan! Hopefully you can make it for an extended stay next time. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARJ44
Leverett
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet cottage with beautiful views day and night”
Reviewed July 23, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
2
people found this review helpful

My daughter and I spent three nights in this simple cottage on Cape Cod Bay. Compared to the crazy crowds of Provincetown, Lieutenant Island was a haven of peace and quiet. Adjoining houses make the place less private than we expected, and the tides presented a real problem: for three hours per day, the wooden bridge from Wellfleet to the island was inaccessible, so we had to plan carefully ahead. But the cottage is comfortable and well stocked (though small: a family of four might feel cramped in bad weather). The view was amazing, the air was fresh and sweet, and there was lots of sports equipment: canoe, surfboard, inflatables. A totally relaxing stay. Very nice owner, too.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2018
Annie, Thank you for your above review.
We do have a couple of great neighbors that are located within 100 yards of the cottage but with the private unobstructed views from all areas of the location they are mostly unnoticed.
Unfortunately during your stay, the tides were notably higher than the average and required some planning around the high tide period. With all guests, we do our best in communicating the tide issue for the island and many have notated how much it adds to the charm of staying at the cottage and the island experience. Hopefully see you for a longer stay next time! Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlyford
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Stay in Cape Cod!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This a terrific place to just "crash" and watch the ocean come in and out, and be in awe of the sunsets! We were in need of a rest from the daily grind and this place just fit us perfectly. We will definitely come again!
Thank you Drew for your wonderful hospitality!

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2018
Marge, It was nice to host you and your friends for a needed respite. Thank you for being great guests, and looking forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Peace at the end of the road”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We just had a spectacular run away on Lieutenant Island. Sweet simple cabin on the waters edge. Clean with everything we could need to have a quiet escape. Amazing sunsets and beach walks. Hosts couldn't have been more helpful.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
We're so happy to see that you enjoyed the beauty, simplicity and quietness of the island and the cottage! Thank you for being great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dst08
Ocean City, New Jersey
1 review
“What a gem!”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is the first time we've stayed on Lieutenant Island. What a magnificent place! And Heather and Drew's house was a great place to enjoy it! The house is on a bluff and offers incredible views of the bay and glorious sunsets. The beach is not far away. The house was clean, the kitchen well equipped and the beds very comfortable. The neighborhood was extremely quiet and a wonderful place to unwind. Go and enjoy!

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thank you for discovering Lieutenant Island and it truly is a special place to simply unwind. Glad that enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ez056698
Manteca, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again.”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
6
people found this review helpful

The problems initially began when several weeks before our stay, we were reminded to bring our own bed sheets, towels, and beach towels. This is ludicrous when someone is paying over $500 per night. Drew responded that this requirement was clearly stated in the description, but "Linens provided upon request" is not clear. In fact, he changed the description on the website after I made this observation. He kindly suggested that I get a refund, but it was too late to get a significant portion of my refund back. The internet connection was unreliable, and the refrigerator had something brown growing on the outside. The rooms were small and poorly furnished. There was no beach (the water came up to the rocks during high tide and turned into mud during low tide). There were bugs in the cupboards. Outlets in the top floor were supplied by extension cords from the bottom floor. To top it off, the green head flies and other bugs were voracious.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
We are truly sorry that you did not have the same enjoyable and memorable stay at the cottage that our guests normally experience!

As a courtesy, and prior to arrival, we remind our guests to remember their linens and towels. Upon your initial reservation (with this being an issue) we offered a refund immediately which was declined.
We've done our best to make sure that the linen and towel description in our listing has always been clear. It had not been an issue prior to your reservation and with your input, we further clarified the description.

Located in a private island location, the Internet hotspot connection is at 3/4G. Until cable is available, this service is the best provided.

We do our best with our description and photos of the rooms and furnishings and also of the beach. Directly from the property, many of our guests enjoy swimming at high tide and walking the tidal flats at low tide. We certainly apologize that your expectations were not met.

The cottage is professionally cleaned for all incoming guests and we do wish that these issues were brought to our attention so they could have been addressed immediately. They have been brought to the attention of our cleaners.

Unfortunately we're unclear with the extension cord issue! It is a forty year old post and beam cottage and the electrical service is hard wired. The circuit box/board and wiring have been updated recently.

Also, we do apologize that you experienced an unusual amount of insects during your stay. With the bay breeze and our location on the island, they are seldom an issue.

Once again, we are truly sorry that you did not have the enjoyable and memorable experience that the majority of our guests have during their stay at the cottage.
Sincerely,
Heather and Drew Taylor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrissliv...
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Cottege review”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was the smallest one on the neighborhood with the best view of the water . Be prepared with food , and the tight drive on the dirt road. The cottage was cute , could have been cleaner .
The views of the water everyday were wonderful .

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Thank you Chris for your kind review recognizing the cuteness of the cottage and its wonderful water views. Hopefully the roads weren't too much of an inconvenience during your stay! Many guests find the island roads quite charming and with the closest market being approximately three miles away, it is important to keep that in mind and be well provisioned during a stay. We're very interested in the notated cleaning issue and we will be contacting you directly to address the situation. Thank you,
Heather and Drew Taylor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing