We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace at the end of the road”
other travelers have booked this property
Deck looking Northwest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Deck looking Northwest
Deck View Cottage from top of Stairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Deck looking Northwest
Deck View
Cottage from top of Stairs
Cottage from Waters edge
Driveway entrance to the Cottage
Living Room, Kitchen, Dining Room
Kitchen and Dining Room
Dining Area
Kitchen and Living Room
Living Area
Master Bedroom
Guest Bedroom
Bathroom
Outdoor Shower
Kayaker from cottage deck.
Lieutenant Island from Above
Sunrise from the cottage deck with view of Great Island and Wellfleet harbor.
Lieutenant Island boathouse. Loagy Cove.
Mid tide Lieutenant Island marsh near the bridge.
North side of the island looking east towards Loagy Bay
Driveway to the cottage, low tide, with view of Great Island.
Sunset view from the north side of the island
Sunset with Lieutenant Island in background.
Cottage bench at sunset with Great Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Wellfleet, Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David M
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Peace at the end of the road”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We just had a spectacular run away on Lieutenant Island. Sweet simple cabin on the waters edge. Clean with everything we could need to have a quiet escape. Amazing sunsets and beach walks. Hosts couldn't have been more helpful.

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
We're so happy to see that you enjoyed the beauty, simplicity and quietness of the island and the cottage! Thank you for being great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dst08
Ocean City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is the first time we've stayed on Lieutenant Island. What a magnificent place! And Heather and Drew's house was a great place to enjoy it! The house is on a bluff and offers incredible views of the bay and glorious sunsets. The beach is not far away. The house was clean, the kitchen well equipped and the beds very comfortable. The neighborhood was extremely quiet and a wonderful place to unwind. Go and enjoy!

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thank you for discovering Lieutenant Island and it truly is a special place to simply unwind. Glad that enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ez056698
Manteca, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again.”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
6
people found this review helpful

The problems initially began when several weeks before our stay, we were reminded to bring our own bed sheets, towels, and beach towels. This is ludicrous when someone is paying over $500 per night. Drew responded that this requirement was clearly stated in the description, but "Linens provided upon request" is not clear. In fact, he changed the description on the website after I made this observation. He kindly suggested that I get a refund, but it was too late to get a significant portion of my refund back. The internet connection was unreliable, and the refrigerator had something brown growing on the outside. The rooms were small and poorly furnished. There was no beach (the water came up to the rocks during high tide and turned into mud during low tide). There were bugs in the cupboards. Outlets in the top floor were supplied by extension cords from the bottom floor. To top it off, the green head flies and other bugs were voracious.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
We are truly sorry that you did not have the same enjoyable and memorable stay at the cottage that our guests normally experience!

As a courtesy, and prior to arrival, we remind our guests to remember their linens and towels. Upon your initial reservation (with this being an issue) we offered a refund immediately which was declined.
We've done our best to make sure that the linen and towel description in our listing has always been clear. It had not been an issue prior to your reservation and with your input, we further clarified the description.

Located in a private island location, the Internet hotspot connection is at 3/4G. Until cable is available, this service is the best provided.

We do our best with our description and photos of the rooms and furnishings and also of the beach. Directly from the property, many of our guests enjoy swimming at high tide and walking the tidal flats at low tide. We certainly apologize that your expectations were not met.

The cottage is professionally cleaned for all incoming guests and we do wish that these issues were brought to our attention so they could have been addressed immediately. They have been brought to the attention of our cleaners.

Unfortunately we're unclear with the extension cord issue! It is a forty year old post and beam cottage and the electrical service is hard wired. The circuit box/board and wiring have been updated recently.

Also, we do apologize that you experienced an unusual amount of insects during your stay. With the bay breeze and our location on the island, they are seldom an issue.

Once again, we are truly sorry that you did not have the enjoyable and memorable experience that the majority of our guests have during their stay at the cottage.
Sincerely,
Heather and Drew Taylor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrissliv...
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Cottege review”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was the smallest one on the neighborhood with the best view of the water . Be prepared with food , and the tight drive on the dirt road. The cottage was cute , could have been cleaner .
The views of the water everyday were wonderful .

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Thank you Chris for your kind review recognizing the cuteness of the cottage and its wonderful water views. Hopefully the roads weren't too much of an inconvenience during your stay! Many guests find the island roads quite charming and with the closest market being approximately three miles away, it is important to keep that in mind and be well provisioned during a stay. We're very interested in the notated cleaning issue and we will be contacting you directly to address the situation. Thank you,
Heather and Drew Taylor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuzanneTr...
Trumbull CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Retreat....”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at this cottage last week and it was amazing. We were able to enjoy a gorgeous sunset from the deck every evening with a glass of wine, after spending the day walking the Island itself, or enjoying the many trails at the Wellfleet Audubon only minutes away. We enjoyed a day in Provincetown which is a quick drive up the coast and wonderful off season - most everything was open and there were no crowds -- (Don't miss the Lobster Pot for a meal!)
We enjoyed the pristine and beautiful beaches of the National Cape Cod Seashore also only minutes away, and spotted both whales and seals on two different occasions! But by far, the best thing about our week was returning to the cottage each day - just keep your eyes out for those "Taylor" signs as you travel along these wonderful dirt roads! :o) The cottage is located at the far side of the Island, where the only thing you can hear (literally) is the water lapping on the rocks at high tide and the laughing gulls. The beds are comfy, the house is clean and the kitchen has everything you need to cook when you prefer, though even in October many restaurants remained open in Wellfleet and neighboring areas. We have already booked a week to return next Fall. I can honestly say that I don't remember ever staying in a place that was so beautiful and peaceful -- something we all treasure in our hectic lives - even for just a little while. Thank you Heather and Drew for sharing this special place!

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2016
Suzanne, We're so glad that you and your family enjoyed the cottage and surrounding area and all it has to offer! Thank you, Heating and Drew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daydream6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful little cottage”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage location is perfect. It was clean and comfortable. The kitchen is small so if you love to cook or cooking for a family could be challenging. The deck is large with plenty of furniture to really enjoy the outdoor space.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: Small kitchen.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
We're certainly happy to see that enjoyed the special location of the cottage and the deck! The "cottage" kitchen is well equipped and the layout is best depicted in the listing photos for size. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceekay141...
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Privacy, peace, spectacular views”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were seeking isolation and privacy, which we got in spades. The cottage is located on a a peninsula that can't be accessed during the height of high tides - only private residences here. The bumpiest roads you will ever travel - don't bring the Ferrari! We were a few weeks before the summer season began so were almost totally alone. The location of the house is incredible, perched on the bluff overlooking the water. Not a swim-able beach. At high tide the sand is gone, at low tide the water is gone and mucky sand remains. But gorgeous. The highlight was being able to bring our dog and we enjoyed peaceful walks around the island with stunning scenery. And the zillions of sand crabs were a fun surprise. Not a 5 star rating because the house is a bit tired, and most disappointing was the poor condition of all of the sliding doors which normally would offer stunning views but all have broken seals and are heavily fogged. We gave this feedback to the owner who says it's planned to be addressed .Furniture in living room is tired and not cozy for hanging out. Kudos though for all new flooring and generally very clean inside.
Communications and responsiveness from the owner prior were great.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
We continually strive to do our very best to create a truly memorable stay for everyone visiting the cottage and we certainly do appreciate feedback and reviews from all our guests. The cottage has always been much more of a "rustic beach cottage" than that of a 5 star luxury home. The above issues have and will be addressed. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing