We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
Chatham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have driven by this restaurant for years, and finally decided to try it. There is a reason for the long line- fabulous seafood, courteous service, and a very caring owner. We had chowder, the grilled striped bass and the fried clam plate. All were deliciously prepared! It is a BYOB, and while you wait in line, they bring you a corkscrew, a glass, and bucket of ice. How nice is that! We will be back very soon-highly recommend!!
S & C Lyon, Chatham

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CDL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
S & C Lyon, Thank you for giving us a try and for your extremely nice comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    289
    78
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved the lobster”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We went as a group of 7 including a not very patient 3 and 1/2 year old. The line moved swiftly, there was a place for the 3and 1/2 year old to play while waiting. We figured out our orders while in line, had some complementary watermelon while waiting, paid and then ate. Good oysters-a few had some sand, good chowder and then lobster. Excellent, simply prepared. The non lobster eaters enjoyed their fried clams, scallops and salad with shrimp. BYOB as well. Fast but not hurried once we got to our table. A fun time

Helpful?
1 Thank roadieplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Roadieplanner, Glad to hear you had a great time. That's what it is all about. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always great!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We visit here every year and have never been disappointed. The food is great, the service is friendly, and the atmosphere is relaxing. The owners are very friendly also. We never miss a visit here!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedSox114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
RedSox114, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“First time back since last summer. Still a winner!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were excited about making the trek from Hyannis -- about 45 minutes-- to go to last year's absolute favorite. OMG, a lineup that stretched right to the end of the porch. Had to wait for a parking spot too. The hostess told us we had an hour's wait. Only faith in the fact that we knew what was at the end of an hour kept us there. Who wants to wait an hour? That line disappeared in 30 minutes - and the hostess handed out plastic cups so we could start to enjoy our wine while we waited. The friendliness and efficiency kicked into place. Order at the counter. Really friendly order taker/ cashier answers every question with warmth and as if you're the only person in the place. She radios to her colleague who shows you to your table. Lobsters, and lobster roll, and the sides all arrive promptly. You can say what you want, but this is my fifth lobster meal in ten days -- and none of them - I said NONE - were as tasty and as perfectly cooked as Moby Dick's. Tip: order the blueberry crumble, it's homemade. The chocolate cake is delicious too. As is the staff. Bring your own beer or wine -- with no cover charge. Casual dining in a warm , friendly atmosphere. Sorry we didn't see owner Todd to say hello. Same time, next year. God willing !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Julian W, Thank you so much for your review and comments! I have posted it for our staff to see. See you next year - I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We made 2 trips to Mobey Dicks as usual.. We go on arrival and departure days. Food is always delicious. Nice fresh seafood. Also great choices for non seafood eaters. Only 1 complaint- the blooming onion and French fries need to be cooked a little longer.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grammyof408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Grammyof408, Thank you for your suggestion. We hear you and will do it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing