We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We ate here a few days after it had opened for the season. You could tell the new staff were working hard to accommodate and be friendly (a bunch of exchange students from the UK).

We didn't realize it was BYOB which was a little disappointing but not a huge deal.

Food was good...lobster rolls were packed full...not hugely exceptional but good. Oysters again were good. Desserts were also good...nice Key lime pie...again not exceptional but good.

The atmosphere of the restaurant was my favorite thing. Great decor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Jiebe, Thank you for your review. I studied at UEA in Norwich and love traveling to the UK. Every year we bring students over for the season because they can work through September (our American students return to school the end of August). Best, Todd Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    307
    87
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington NC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“For fast service, try Moby Dick's Carry-Out”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just got back to the Cape for the summer, and our first meal from Moby Dick's. Yes, as the season brings the tourists, the lines outside this great restaurant grow longer each day. Yet, if you call your order in, then pick it up & take it with you, your food will be ready pronto, even if the sit-down areas are packed. Since discovering this, we actually prefer to do carry-out. We don't live too far from the restaurant. The order taker tells you how long before your order will be ready. When you arrive, the entire order is bagged & ready to go. The staff is very well-trained here, so they are conscientious about putting everything that you need in the bag: entrees, soups, plastic bagged napkins & utensils, etc. We bring ours home, & enjoy our meal on our peaceful, quiet deck as we watch the sun setting on another beautiful Cape Cod day.

Try it . . . it's way less stressful than waiting in line.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrmax14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Ann, Thank you for your comments about our take out service. We have been working to improve our take out and so your comments are greatly appreciated! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant on Cape cod”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Sharon and I been going to the Cape for close to 40 years and Moby's since 1983 when it opened and in all of that time we've never had a better meal than those that we've had at Moby Dick's. Todd and Migs are gracious hosts and the staff from all over the world always make you feel welcome.

The chowder, the steamers, the lobster rolls are just a few of my favorites and there's nothing like a Steamed Lobster at Moby Dick's. I'm telling you if you're going to the Cape and don't go to Moby's you're gonna regret it.

For me it's all about the steamers and when they're as good at they are at Moby's that's as good as it gets for me. See you there this Summer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mpsasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear mpsasmith, Thank you for your extremely kind words about Mobys. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you this summer! best, Todd and Mignon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous lobster! ”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We had the steamed whole lobster, raw oysters, clams, lobster roll and key lime pie. It was all unbelievably good. Just remember to BYOB!

Helpful?
Thank Walter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Walter, Thank you for your review and wonderful comments! I hope we'll see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice place to have seafood. However the portions are quite small compared to the price. Beware: if you plan to go for a dinner, get ready to wait at least an hour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milkstout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear milkstout, We want our portions to be generous. Perhaps we made a mistake with your order. If ever something is not right or does not look quite right please let us know and we will fix it! No worries.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing