We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best seafood on the Cape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best seafood on the Cape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Good prices, great food, no pretense. Loved it. Lobster Roll and Scallops are superb. We went to a few other places on highway 6 and we paid more and enjoyed our meals WAY less...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    283
    76
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great year after year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Great food and atmosphere. Plus its byob. Worth the wait. Owner is always around and his other place in town The Winslow tavern is great too. If you go before 6:00 lines aren't too bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jagger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Unexpected treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

It looks like a regular clam shack, but do not be deceived. The oysters were fresh, fresh and more fresh. We recommend the tuna sandwich, which was cooked to our specifications --we like it rare to raw! The staff was cheerful, friendly and patient; some as it turns out, are hospitality students. The speciality of the day we were there was grilled fish tacos--stripped bass, ample portions and yum. Plus you can get gifts for the Moby Dick obsessed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great lobster, clam chowder, corn.... And the Key Lime Pie too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went to Moby Dick's for lunch with the family on the way up to Ptown, since my hubby wanted lobster- we managed to arrive early, around 11:30a, which I recommend, otherwise there is a line out the door! We got 1 3/4 lb lobster with the corn( sweet and delicious btw), and I got the steamer combo, which was both clams and mussels - also got the clam chowder, which is one of the best ones that I've eaten; creamy, lots of clams, not thick, and not too many potatoes- my 6 year old kept asking for more!
For the kids, we got the fried shrimp platter and Mac and cheese, which is probably the only slight downside, since it was the Kraft Mac and cheese, but regardless, the kids ate it- the shrimp were a good size as well- fries were decent.

The service was great- here what you do is order when you come in at the counter, then sit at your table and they bring your order to the table- very kid friendly- had crayons and paper to draw on to occupy their time. They cleared off plates and checked on you to make sure you were ok.

Although we were too full for dessert, we had read that the key lime pie was a favorite- so on the way back from Ptown, we picked up a whole pie to bring to our friend's house for dessert, and it was a hit! Homemade, it had great flavor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A fantastic find after trying others for years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Moby Dick's allows you to bring your own beer and wine along which saves a lot of money. The very cordial staff will bring you a bucket with ice and glasses while you are waiting to get in. The food and service were top notch. The owner brings much of his wait staff from a college in England that has a hospitality industry major. The fun atmosphere was positive and upbeat. A wash up sink is even on hand for lobster eaters. Big thumbs up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing