We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Restaurant on the Cape”
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #2 of 47 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant on the Cape”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went here two times in 4 days because the food was so good. If you like seafood, you need to go to Moby Dicks.

The first night we got a Grilled Crab Cake, the Grilled Shrimp & Scallops skewers, and a side of Rice Pilaf. We got the Key Lime Pie for dessert (Not made in house, comes from Georgia). I generally dont each Crab Cakes because they have so much "stuff" or fillers in them. These are all crab meat and delicious. The skewers were both very good and the Key Lime Pie was amazing.

Our second time back, we got a Crab Cake Sandwich on sour dough bread and a Moby’s Fish Sandwich (Cod and Broiled). Both are the best seafood sandwiches we have had. We also had a side of Calamari and fries.

Service was very good and the food was excellent. We will be coming back whenever we go to the cape. It's a must stop for us now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDave1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
TheDave, Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    297
    84
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Whale Of A Good Time”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Went here last week for lunch with family and friends. While this was our first visit to this restaurant, it will definitely not be the last. Every item we chose from the menu was a winner-- where else to go for fresh Wellfleet oysters than Wellfleet? Even the desserts were excellent (see photo of three happy tasters of the blueberry crisp). We have been going to the Cape for the last three years, and I am kicking myself for not stopping sooner. If you are ever in the area, do not make the mistake of driving by.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadamek390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for giving us a try and for your nice comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Steamers Ever!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've been coming to Wellfleet with my family since childhood, and Moby Dicks is a staple. This time, I brought my boyfriend who was equally blown away by the food at Moby Dicks. We got lobsters clam bake- the steamers were so fresh and creamy. Better than we had imagined. The staff was friendly and attentive. If you're in Wellfleet and looking for fresh, delicious sea food this is the place for you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Brianna, Thank you for bringing your boyfriend in and for writing a review. The best steamers come from Chatham and that is where we get ours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So awesome!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We go to Mobys every year and they never let us down. The food is great! Don't miss out on this delicious experience, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crimsonbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, CT
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fun, whimsical, tender lobster, attentive waitstaff”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you're expecting a dining experience where you're treated with kid gloves by a waiter with a tie, look elsewhere. If you want to have a fun, casual experience and still end up with fantastic food, head over to Moby Dick's.

When we walked in the door, we were immediately met by Wil, who asked us if we'd been to Moby Dick's before. We said no and he explained how it works. You pick your meals from the wall boards, you go to the counter to place and pay for your order and then you go to your seat and they bring your order to you. I do give them credit for bringing my appetizer before our entrees were served. I was thinking I might get it all at once, which wouldn't have been optimal.

Extremely friendly staff checks in with you on a regular basis to see if you require anything. You eat your lobster bisque from a paper cup and drink from a plastic glass but somehow this is a great thing at MD's.

The lobster bisque was very tasty, and my lobster roll was almost perfect. The lobster meat was super tender and delicious, but I still asked for some drawn butter to pour over the roll. This, plus a sprinkle of sea salt, made it perfect. Fries are perfection. And cole slaw is just great.

Husband ordered a bacon cheeseburger. Asked for his bacon fatty and his burger medium and that's exactly what he received. He literally took one bite, closed his eyes and moaned. He said he couldn't remember the last time he enjoyed a burger this much.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you plan on leaving a tip, which we always do based on actual service received, you have to either have cash to leave it on the table or you can ask them to add the tip to your bill when you originally order. We actually called the owner over and explained that we felt bad because we had no cash on us. She called her husband and he said we could actually run our credit card for cash and then leave the cash for the waitstaff. So, decide how you want to do this, and you WILL want to do this, when you arrive.

Worthy of a second trip, that's for sure. Oh, but the gift shop, not so much. More for kids.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing