We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the BEST!”
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We discovered Moby Dicks about five years ago. We visit the Cape once a year and becuase the food is so exceptional we have to go at least twice during outr visit. We had lobster dinners last saturday and the lobster is the best we ever had. We are going agian tonight. All of the food is exceptionally fresh. Todd runs a very tight ship. The service is great. Do not leave the cape without a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alwaystravel_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you. We really appreciate your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 962 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

we stop in everytime we are in Wellfleet and the food is consistently great. We love the friendly service. Desserts are great too! Don't forgrt to bring your own wine or beer!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelinGal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We found the line and ordering system a little regimented (waiting to be allowed in to order our food) but I suppose when you are as busy as they are you need to bring some order. And they did bring slices of melon out to those of use waiting which was a nice touch and very appreciated by our daughter.

The food was very good, but I wouldn't say exceptional. Service was friendly. It's not my favorite place on the Cape but you certainly won't be disappointed with your visit here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VT4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for visiting Mobys and for your comments. Our system has evolved over the years and our goal is to be as efficient and organized as possible. We are always trying to improve...That said, is there anything we could do so that we could become your favorite place on the Cape?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I'd give this 3.5 stars if possible. The food was good, overall, you should be looking for plain seafood, nothing imaginative. I give it kudos for figuring out how to process a lot of people in a short amount of time. They have a Disneyworld-like strategy to accost you on line with a menu, then shoot you into a holding pen to order, and quickly get you to an assigned table once you have ordered and pre-paid. It may sound Orwellian, but it works to handle the never ending line. We liked our food and it was fresh. All of the waitresses were Brits which was sort of cute in an incongruous way (no Boston accents?!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank santonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. After reading it I get the sense that we were not exactly what you were looking for. Perhaps the next time you are this way you might want to try our other restaurant in town - Winslow's Tavern. We call the concept "polished casual" and their menu is definately more imaginative than ours. Sincerely, Todd Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

It was a long wait, but it is such a fun and great environment inside with tons of great choices for food. Staff was super friendly and we were a large group and appreciated that they would split our checks for us. Great food!

Thank newfoundlaurenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for describing us as "fun and a great environment". We are a simple clam shack and want you to have an awesome experience! Thanks again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing