We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2016 It’s vacation time on Cape Cod! You and your family want to have lots of fun and eat some fresh seafood. Family owned and operated since 1983, Moby Dick’s is THE Cape Cod seafood restaurant for friends and families to meet, eat and just have a good time. Taking the New England clam shack to a new level, we will offer you and your family a great experience. We may not be full service, but we deliver great service. The freshest seafood, the best lobsters, Wellfleet littlenecks, Wellfleet oysters, Chatham Cod, fried clams and clam chowder are just a few of the local items we serve up daily. We aim to be the best. Kid-friendly is our middle name. We have a large Kid’s menu not to mention some fun coloring sheets as well. We welcome guests needing a gluten-free menu. We love large groups, small groups, any group. We would be delighted to host your special Cape Cod event. We are a BYOB establishment so grab your favorite beer or wine and head right over. We look forward to meeting you! Open at 11:30 am everyday for lunch and dinner from the first Friday in May to Columbus Day.
western NY
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“worth the wait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

where should I begin? the lobsters were great, the kids meals were much better than usual. they were very accomodating. substituted veggies and apples for fries for the kids. when I couldn't crack my lobster, they took it back to the kitchen and did it for me! did i mention that it was BYOB? don't miss the lobster bisque! a few hints: you get in line (and it moves quickly) and when you get to the front, you must have everyone in your party there and ready to order. then you pay for your dinners and are seated and served shortly thereafter. try to be seated in the upstairs screened in room. the room downstairs is a little small and dark! loved it and can't wait to go back next year!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your review and nice comments. I am also pleased that you were happy with our kids menu. We have tried to add some variety and healthy options. Would you have any suggestions? Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    283
    76
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This place was delicious. Great environment. They have a great variety of local seafood. I had the seafood kabob and it was delicious. You are definitely in for a 'whale of a meal.'

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Landon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your very kind comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, BYOB a novel idea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went to Moby Dicks for daughter's 15th birthday! LOOOONG lines to enter, however they move fast. Food was good and the service was fast. The best idea was bYOB (bring you own beverage). Would go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RogerBalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your visit and for wring a review. We are very pleased that you had a great experience and that you will return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Tartar Sauce delivery system”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I'm a vegetarian so can't comment about the sea food. My veggie burger was meh. My pescatarian family, however, DEVOURED everything in sight, so obviously enjoyed their various fried fishlings. I am writing to praise the tartar sauce and cole slaw, the best I've ever tasted, I could not stop eating either, I was stealing off people's plates with my french fries and they were doing the same to me. So delicious, and we loved the casual beach atmosphere of the place. Well worth it and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hikingrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our veggie burgers are Gardenburgers. Any suggestions as to how we can improve? Thank you for your enthusiastic comments. They are very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly manager”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had never been to a restaurant set up this way but loved the food and had a great time. The manager was extremely friendly and stopped by on multiple occassions to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. My only suggestion is to not go here if you are looking for typical restaurant service. You order at a counter and your food is brought to you. It's also BYOB which was nice because we just brought a large bottle of our favorite wine!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing