We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping...”
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #2 of 49 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
Owego, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth stopping...”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Well worth stopping here. Very casual. Cooking & service is done by culinary students from UK. Little pricey but food was exceptional

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We travel to the UK every year to recruit, interview, and hire. We are very fortunate to have a group of polite, hard working, and fun kids on our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    307
    87
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“The best of Cape Cod!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a great restaurant, but that's not all. Todd, the owner clearly loves what he does and is good at it. He sat down with us and drew up a map that pointed out the best beaches, nature trails, and sights to see in Wellfleet. Then he brought us a plate of Wellfleet oysters, on the house!

The whole belly clams were divine, and the fresh scallops tasted great. This is the kind of place that will give you a memorable meal and then some more. I can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Human44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Why did I wait so long?”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've been vacationing in Wellfleet for a number of years, and kept on driving by Moby Dick's heading to Ptown, or in the other direction to Arnolds. Sorry I did. This place has charm, character, and just plain good food. It's BYOB, and they will bring you a wine bucket with ice if you need it. They serve you watermelon while you wait in line...and don't be dismayed by a long line, it moves quick! The owners are absolutely delightful, and they host international students every summer, who are here training in the hospitality business. Great place to have a relaxing, low key, "no need to dress up" dinner. Do tip when you order...these summer kids need to have fun, too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrenthamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for stopping by and giving us a try and for taking the time to write about your experience. We really appreciate it! We hope that we will see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Top notch food with a friendly staff. This place is an oasis for travelers going to the tip of the Cape. Fresh fish prepared perfectly. Priced at a steal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xer2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Its the first time we have ever been described as an "oasis". Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

As a tourist to Cape Cod sometimes you will fall into those "tourist traps" and feel like you did not get what you deserved for the money. Never at Moby Dicks! We discovered this restaurant two years ago and it has become our favorite stop on the Cape. The owners are always present and asking how everything is. As proprietors of a family owned restaurant ourselves, we are so appreciative of this personal service. The staff that they have is also some of the friendliest and most efficient we have seen. I love the international staff. The food is outstanding. The freshest seafood. Not everything is fried. They have healthy options that are delicious too. They seem to think of everything- vegan, gluten free, environmentally friendly, etc. My husband and I love to bring our own bottle of wine and enjoy the great food and warm environment. We were there last week and spent our last night at Moby Dick's, with our son and his girlfriend. It was the most pleasant night of the vacation!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank braeloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your extremely kind comments. I have posted your review for our staff to see. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing