We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why did I wait so long?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Closed for the winter. See you May 2016 It’s vacation time on Cape Cod! You and your family want to have lots of fun and eat some fresh seafood. Family owned and operated since 1983, Moby Dick’s is THE Cape Cod seafood restaurant for friends and families to meet, eat and just have a good time. Taking the New England clam shack to a new level, we will offer you and your family a great experience. We may not be full service, but we deliver great service. The freshest seafood, the best lobsters, Wellfleet littlenecks, Wellfleet oysters, Chatham Cod, fried clams and clam chowder are just a few of the local items we serve up daily. We aim to be the best. Kid-friendly is our middle name. We have a large Kid’s menu not to mention some fun coloring sheets as well. We welcome guests needing a gluten-free menu. We love large groups, small groups, any group. We would be delighted to host your special Cape Cod event. We are a BYOB establishment so grab your favorite beer or wine and head right over. We look forward to meeting you! Open at 11:30 am everyday for lunch and dinner from the first Friday in May to Columbus Day.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Why did I wait so long?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I've been vacationing in Wellfleet for a number of years, and kept on driving by Moby Dick's heading to Ptown, or in the other direction to Arnolds. Sorry I did. This place has charm, character, and just plain good food. It's BYOB, and they will bring you a wine bucket with ice if you need it. They serve you watermelon while you wait in line...and don't be dismayed by a long line, it moves quick! The owners are absolutely delightful, and they host international students every summer, who are here training in the hospitality business. Great place to have a relaxing, low key, "no need to dress up" dinner. Do tip when you order...these summer kids need to have fun, too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wrenthamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for stopping by and giving us a try and for taking the time to write about your experience. We really appreciate it! We hope that we will see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    281
    76
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Top notch food with a friendly staff. This place is an oasis for travelers going to the tip of the Cape. Fresh fish prepared perfectly. Priced at a steal.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Xer2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Its the first time we have ever been described as an "oasis". Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

As a tourist to Cape Cod sometimes you will fall into those "tourist traps" and feel like you did not get what you deserved for the money. Never at Moby Dicks! We discovered this restaurant two years ago and it has become our favorite stop on the Cape. The owners are always present and asking how everything is. As proprietors of a family owned restaurant ourselves, we are so appreciative of this personal service. The staff that they have is also some of the friendliest and most efficient we have seen. I love the international staff. The food is outstanding. The freshest seafood. Not everything is fried. They have healthy options that are delicious too. They seem to think of everything- vegan, gluten free, environmentally friendly, etc. My husband and I love to bring our own bottle of wine and enjoy the great food and warm environment. We were there last week and spent our last night at Moby Dick's, with our son and his girlfriend. It was the most pleasant night of the vacation!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank braeloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your extremely kind comments. I have posted your review for our staff to see. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A throw back to years ago with a modern menu and it's great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I love coming here, besides the obvious choices, I love getting a salad with salmon, it's so refreshing. I of course, love a lobster dinner while setting on a picnic table in a camp like setting. This place is spotless, the service is excellent and the food is delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sbdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best overall dining experience for over 15 years of visiting Cape Cod!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have become "faithful" visitors of Moby Dicks for many years. We honestly have enjoyed every meal throughout the years. The staff has always been courteous, friendly, and welcoming. The owners come to our table on our visits to greet us like you are there family. The lobster, chowder and streamers are the best we have had on the cape. Especially steamers that can be sandy, NEVER at Moby Dicks! We have driven a "few" Morhers Days from Upstate New York for "the day" to visit the beach than to eat at Moby Dicks! Thank you for what you do! We appreciate it! Jeff and Namcy

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffandNancyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear "faithful visitors" - Thank you so much for your business, your enthusiasm, and for your review. We really appreciate you and look forward to seeing you later this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing