We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST lobster”

Van Rensselaer's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Van Rensselaer's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cape Cod Seafood & Wellfleet Shellfish, Angus Beef & Prime Rib, Vegan & Gluten-Free Selections, Deliciously Fresh Salad Bar, Nice Wines, Local Brews, Fun Martinis, and Casual & Comfortable! Thursdays - Saturdays we also offer Late Night at VR's to 11:00 pm at night!
Peterborough, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The BEST lobster”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Lobster Dinner was amazing! Huge and fresh lobster which was definitely worth every penny. The people working there were so friendly and nice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jessicalcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    135
    39
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
1,602 reviews
832 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
“An Excellent Dining Experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

V R's still stands out as one of the best restaurants in Wellfleet. The commitment of management to food of high quality, wide variety and good taste makes it a place to come back to for a good meal again and again. The appetizers and salads lay the foundation for an interesting menu. The buffet salad bar is a great option for those who want to supplement their meal or make it a meal. The standard entrees are supplemented with a number of interesting options every day. While beef, chicken and pork are available, V R's is renown for its seafood, freshly caught by local fisherman. A decent wine and beer menu is available as well as a good bar. The veteran wait staff is enthusiastic and attentive. You will probably be greeted by the Halls, whose smiles and charm symbolize the welcoming atmosphere of this place

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First-rate dining in Wellfleet”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This restaurant does not disappoint. Last month I took a friend from California here, and she swore they were the best scallops she had ever had. I especially appreciate the "bistro-size" entrées, which are more affordable, and exactly the right amount of food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Service”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants I have been to. The service was quick (we dined early for dinner at 4:30). We both had the salad bar with our meals. The salad bar was full of every fresh salad topping you could imagine. I had the seafood linguine and my mister had the burger. The pasta had the option to get a full size or bistro size. I got the bistro size and it was the perfect amount for a meal; it and included 2 shrimp, 2 scallops, and a lobster claw. The burger was cooked medium-well as requested, and was the average burger - nothing too special. Our server was polite. He made sure to check in often to see if we needed anything and was willing to explain all of the specials and the menu. He cleared our plates when finished and did not let them pile up on the table. Should we go back to the Cape; Van Rensselaer's will be on the list of places to eat again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyP90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Food ... Even Better Service”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I joined two friends for breakfast over Memorial Day weekend. They have been going their for some time now. The atmosphere is nicer than most breakfast places but it was the service that really stood out ... along with the food. The two guys I was with even made a point of telling the owner how great the service was. Sorry I don't remember his name but management obviously pays attention to the people they hire.

As for the food, all three plates were cleared when our waiter picked them up. Coffee was constantly being refilled ... even the one decaf was refilled without any special requests.

You'll pay more here but you'll think it was worth it.

I will return ... regardless of who waits on me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Rensselaer's Restaurant also viewed

 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Van Rensselaer's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing