We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's always "5 o'clock somewhere" here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellfleet Beachcomber

Wellfleet Beachcomber
Ranked #11 of 46 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“It's always "5 o'clock somewhere" here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Good friends from Georgia visited us on Cape and this was the trip ending highlight of their stay! It's Margaritaville on Cape Cod!! The unique location, high above the beach at the end of Cahoon Hollow Road is reason enough to come here. But they also have all your favorite drinks served by long time legendary bartender, Andy at the main bar overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. It's not for the coat & tie crowd but good for young (kids menu) and old (who still remember young). Parking is limited but becomes more available as the beach crowd vacates and the dinner hour approaches. Don't get discouraged as it's well worth the wait. We started with cocktails at the bar and our ladies used their Southern charms to secure bar stools for themselves while we happily waited 45 minutes and voted on the bikinis exiting the beach. Meanwhile my friend, Scott was lustily eying lobster dinners as his finale before going back to Georgia. We also had Eastham Mussels, Nauset Steamers (clams), Cape Scallops and WELLFLEET Oysters. One more than "menage a trois"! This is the prototype of Old Cape Cod that many remember and why it's preferred by most over the Jersey Shore, Hamptons, Connecticut Shore, Maine, etc.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    87
    45
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wellfleet Beachcomber was a fun in the sun kind of restaurant experience! Our son brought us to this restaurant, one of his favorites, while on a recent vacation on Cape Cod. We started with drinks on the outdoor deck before being seated at a table, also outside. We had many items from the raw bar including oysters, littlenecks, and shrimp and all were incredibly fresh and delicious! We sampled chowder, steamers, friend scallops, salads, steak tips, and fish and chips and everything was outstanding! The restaurant was packed! We had hoped to sit on the upper level of the outdoor deck, but instead were on the lower level, perhaps because we required a highchair. Premium seating is at either corner of the upper outside deck for future reference. There is a charge to park outside, because it is beach parking ($20) but the bill is then given a $20 credit. After our meal we walked over to the breathtaking view at the cliff by the beach and took some photographs, and purchased some tee shirts at the souvenir shop. It would be possible to make a day of it and stay at the beach, although we only came for lunch. Beautiful area. fun destination! Worth the trip!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This place was so busy when we got there for dinner -- around 5:45.. Outdoor Bar was packed so we sat inside. Our waiter was great - very attentive, even with the crowds of patrons. Kids had chicken fingers, which were actually chicken breasts. So refreshing to see it in a home made style. Hubby had fried scallops platter - they were so sweet and delicious I wish I had ordered them for myself! I had the swordfish fish tacos which were delicious as well. The view from outside to the beach is breathtaking.. Wish we had been to that beach for the day, although Marconi Beach was gorgeous too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EZtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent ,in all phases”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great food, great atmosphere. Fun for all ages. Everyone has to experience the Wellfleet Beachcomber.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Get there early!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Headed over on a sunny day (after 2 days of rain). Plan was to park at Beachcomber, hang at the beach and then grab a meal before heading out. Unfortunately the parking lot was full-we were sent to a remote lot and then took the Funky Bus to the restaurant. At the remote lot, you DO NOT get credit towards your meal. The beach was clean and lots of fun. The restaurant was jumping! Great vibe and busy deck scene. Stay away from the nachos...stick with the shellfish. The oysters were amazing. While the fish and chips were a bit greasy, the steamed mussels were perfect. Go early if you hope to take advantage of the $20 parking credit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sbenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellfleet Beachcomber also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Wellfleet Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing